the Moscow Power-Engineering Institute and a Ph.D. from the Kurchatov Institute.

David J. Diamond is chief scientist in the Nuclear Science and Technology Department at Brookhaven National Laboratory. He is also acting leader of the Nuclear Analysis Group. He has extensive experience in nuclear reactor safety, primarily through his work for the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (USNRC). He has also worked on safety issues with regulatory bodies in more than a half dozen countries as well as the International Atomic Energy Agency. His technical contributions are through the application of neutronics and thermal-hydraulics models, and the combining of deterministic and statistical analyses. The applications have been to problems in light and heavy water power and non-power reactors. For research and test reactors (RTRs) he has led a team providing support in reactor analysis and other disciplines for the research reactor at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Center for Neutron Research. The team also provides support to the USNRC staff responsible for RTR licensing. An example of the latter work has been the review of the safety reports for conversion (HEU to LEU fuel) of the USNRC-licensed university reactors. Dr. Diamond has been asked to chair various international panels addressing safety issues. Dr. Diamond received his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and he is a fellow of the American Nuclear Society (ANS) and a recipient of the ANS’ Tommy Thompson Award recognizing contributions to nuclear installation safety.

Valentin B. Ivanov is chief research scientist at the RAS Institute of Ore Deposits, Petrography, Mineralogy, and Geochemistry. He graduated from the Samara Technical University with a degree in electrical engineering and received his doctorate of technical sciences in Moscow from Institute of Radiation Techniques in 1991. His sphere of professional interests includes the nuclear fuel cycle and spent nuclear fuel management. From 1963 to 1998, he worked at Research Institute of Atomic Reactors (RIAR), for the last nine of those years serving as its director general. From 1998 to 2002, he served as first deputy minister for atomic energy of the Russian Federation. In 2003, he was elected to the Russian State Duma, where he served as a member of the parliamentary Committee on Energy, Transport, and Communication until 2008.

Boris F. Myasoedov is deputy secretary general for science of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS), head of laboratories at both the RAS Vernadsky Institute of Geochemistry and Analytical Chemistry and the RAS Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry. His scientific activity covers such fields as the fundamental chemistry of actinides, fuel

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement