Active Learning Environment for Undergraduate Programs—SCALE-UP—an approach that has been adopted at more than 50 institutions. For his education reform efforts, he was named the 2009 North Carolina professor of the year by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education and the 2010 national undergraduate science teacher of the year by the Society of College Science Teachers. He is the founding editor of a journal of the American Physical Society, Physical Review Special Topics: Physics Education Research. He holds a Ph.D. in science education from The State University of New York, Buffalo.

STACEY LOWERY BRETZ is a professor of chemistry at Miami University (Ohio). Previously, she was on the faculty of the University of Michigan–Dearborn and of Youngstown State University. Her current research relates to the assessment of student learning, including chemistry concept inventories, the application of cognitive science theories and qualitative methodologies to chemistry education research, inquiry in the laboratory, and children and chemistry. With support from the National Science Foundation, she has created a series of conferences for chemistry education research graduate students. She currently serves as chair of the board of trustees for the American Chemical Society Division of the Chemical Education Examinations Institute, and she is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She is a recipient of the E. Phillips Knox award for undergraduate education from Miami University and of both the distinguished professor of teaching award and the research awards from Youngstown State University. She holds a B.A. from Cornell University and an M.S. from Pennsylvania State University, both in chemistry, and a Ph.D. in chemistry education research from Cornell.

MELANIE COOPER is an alumni distinguished professor of chemistry at Clemson University. Her research has investigated problem solving in a wide variety of areas, including laboratories and large enrollment lectures. Her work on methods to assess and improve students’ problem-solving abilities and strategies has focused on interventions that promote metacognitive activity. An outgrowth of this research is the development and assessment of evidence-driven, research-based curricula. She is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and has received a number of awards for excellence in teaching. She holds a B.S., an M.S., and a Ph.D. from the University of Manchester (England).

SEAN DECATUR is dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and a professor of chemistry at Oberlin College. Previously, he served as associate dean of faculty for science and the Marilyn Dawson Sarles professor of life sciences and professor of chemistry at Mount Holyoke College. His primary

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement