TABLE 2-1 Legal Status of Execution in the Post-Gregg Era

State Legal Authority for Death Penalty 1976-2009
Alabama Yes
Alaska No
Arizona Yes
Arkansas Yes
California Yes
Colorado Yes
Connecticut Yes
Delaware Yes
Florida Yes
Georgia Yes
Hawaii No
Idaho Yes
Illinois Yes
Indiana Yes
Iowa No
Kansas No, 1976-1992; Yes, 1993-2009
Kentucky Yes
Louisiana Yes
Maine No
Maryland Yes
Massachusetts No, 1977-1979; Yes, 1980-1983; No, 1984-2009
Michigan No
Minnesota No
Mississippi Yes
Missouri Yes
Montana Yes
Nebraska Yes
Nevada Yes
New Hampshire No, 1976-1989; Yes, 1990-2009
New Jersey No, 1976-1981; Yes, 1982-2005; No, 2006-2009
New Mexico Yes, 1976-2007; No, 2008-2009
New York No, 1976-1994; Yes, 1995-2006; No, 2007-2009
North Carolina No, 1976; Yes, 1977-2009
North Dakota No
Ohio Yes
Oklahoma Yes
Oregon No, 1976-1977; Yes, 1978-2009
Pennsylvania Yes
Rhode Island Yes, 1976-1983; No, 1984-2009
South Carolina Yes

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement