phases of the deployment cycle. She has served on two Institute of Medicine (IOM) committees: the Committee on Gulf War and Health: Physiological, Psychologic, and Psychosocial Effects of Deployment-Related Stress and the Committee on Qualifications of Professionals Providing Mental Health Counseling Services Under TRICARE. Dr. Basham recently served on the Steering Committee cosponsored by the Council of Social Work Education to set standards for accredited curricula related to treatment and prevention practices for service members and families affected by military service. In addition to her extensive record of publications and professional presentations, she has received the Distinguished Clinical Practitioner award from the National Academies of Practice. Dr. Basham received her PhD from Smith College.

Larry Culpepper is a professor and chairman of family medicine at the Boston University School of Medicine and chief of family medicine at Boston Medical Center. He has conducted federally funded studies of depression and anxiety and is a Primary Care Fellow of the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. He received the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Excellence in Education Award in 1991, the NAPCRG-STFM Career Research Award in 1997, and the North American Primary Care Research Group Maurice Wood Lifetime Research Award in 2010. Dr. Culpepper is an IOM member. He received his MD from Baylor College of Medicine and his MPH from Boston University.

Jonathan R. Davidson is an emeritus professor of psychiatry and for 20 years served as director of the Anxiety and Traumatic Stress Program of Duke University Medical Center. He has researched and used psychotherapy, pharmacotherapy, and holistic approaches to treat people for mental illnesses. His contributions to the understanding of and treatment for anxiety and traumatic stress have been recognized with the American Psychiatric Association Adolf Meyer Research Award, and he is a Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association, the Royal College of Psychiatrists, the American Psychopathological Association, and the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology. Dr. Davidson has been a member of several advisory boards, committees, National Institute of Mental Health study sections, the National Institutes of Health National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine advisory council, and other task forces related to psychiatry, anxiety disorders, and traumatic stress. He has also served as co-chair of the American Psychiatric Association DSM-IV Work Group for Posttraumatic Stress Disorder. He has received numerous federal grants to support his research and has been the principal investigator or coinvestigator in more than 70 clinical studies, including a landmark trial of hypericum (St. John’s wort) in depression. Dr. Davidson is a member of

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement