• Applied Sustainability
    As a second area of programmatic emphasis, the Roundtable is sharpening its focus on sustainability challenges in applied situations where STS works with specific communities within our RT membership.

The Roundtable is the key component of the Science and Technology for Sustainability (STS) Program in the division of Policy and Global Affairs at the National Research Council. The Roundtable is being supported by the National Academies’ George and Cynthia Mitchell Endowment for Sustainability. STS is the institutional focal point within the National Academies for examining sustainability science and technology issues. Sustainability leaders in the government, academia, private sector and non-governmental organizations recognize STS as a sustainability leader driving current approaches in the field.

For more information, please visit our website at: www.nas.edu/sustainability or contact Marina Moses, Director of the National Academies’ Roundtable on Science and Technology for Sustainability (mmoses@nas.edu; 202-334-2143).

Members of the Roundtable on Science and Technology for Sustainability

Thomas Graedel (Co-Chair) (NAE), Clifton R. Musser Professor of Industrial Ecology, Yale University

Ann M. Bartuska (Co-Chair), Deputy Under Secretary for Research, Education and Economics, U.S. Department of Agriculture

Paul Anastas, Assistant Administrator, Office of Research and Development, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency*

Michael Bertolucci, Former President, Interface Research Corporation

Nancy Cantor (IOM), President and Chancellor, Syracuse University

Leslie Carothers, Scholar-in-Residence, Pace Law School

Stephen R. Carpenter (NAS), Stephen Alfred Forbes Professor of Zoology, Center for Limnology, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Glen T. Daigger (NAE), Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, CH2M HILL

Marco Ferroni, Executive Director, Syngenta Foundation for Sustainable Agriculture

Steve Fetter, Principal Assistant Director of Environment, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy

Bernard D. Goldstein (IOM), Professor, Department of Environmental and Occupational Health, University of Pittsburgh, Graduate School of Public Health

Mohamed H. A. Hassan, Executive Director, The Academy of Sciences for the Developing World

Neil C. Hawkins, Vice President of Sustainability, The Dow Chemical Company

Katie Hunt, Director, Technology Collaboration Development in Core R&D, The Dow Chemical Company

Michael Kavanaugh (NAE), Principal, Geosyntec Consultants

Jack Kaye, Associate Director, Research of the Earth Science Division, National Aeronautics and Space Administration*

Marcia K. McNutt (NAS), Director, U.S. Geological Survey*

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement