Royal Military College of Canada, a master’s from Queen’s University, and a Ph.D. from the Technical University of Nova Scotia, all in chemical engineering. He is a fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada, the Engineering Institute of Canada, and Engineers Canada. He is a past president of the Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering and of the Association of Professional Engineers of Nova Scotia, and is a past chair of the Canadian Engineering Qualifications Board. He is the editor of the Journal of Loss Prevention in the Process Industries, and has recently served as chair of the Safety and Security Strategic Projects Panel of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada. Dr. Amyotte’s teaching, research, and practice interests are in the areas of process safety, inherently safer design, and dust explosion risk reduction. He has consulted to industry, government, and academia in these and related areas, and has published or presented approximately 180 papers in the field of industrial safety. Recent research accomplishments and professional engagements include the delivery of keynote lectures at the 2010 Mary Kay O’Connor Process Safety Center Annual Symposium and Nanosafe 2010 (International Conference on Safe Production and Use of Nanomaterials), expert testimony at the U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board public hearing on the Kleen Energy natural gas explosion (June 2010), and coauthorship with Professor Trevor Kletz on the second edition of Process Plants: A Handbook for Inherently Safer Design published by the Taylor & Francis Group in 2010.

Peter Beak (NAS) is CAS Professor Emeritus at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Dr. Beak’s research interests are in synthetic, structural, and mechanistic organic chemistry, new reaction processes, synthetic methodology, and reactive intermediates, and his work has clarified the effect of molecular environment on structure—stability relationships, provided new reactions that are widely used for chemical synthesis, and identified novel reactive intermediates. His current research involves the determination of reaction trajectories in atom-transfer reactions and asymmetric synthesis. Dr. Beak has held editorships, lectureships, and leadership positions in professional organizations. He has received a number of awards, lectured around the world, and served as research advisor for more than 100 graduate and postdoctoral students. Dr. Beak served on the NRC committee that authored the 1995 edition of Prudent Practices in the Laboratory. Dr. Beak is a member of the National Academy of Sciences (elected in 2003) and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He received his B.A. from Harvard University in 1957 and his Ph.D. from Iowa State University in 1961 and then joined the faculty at Illinois.

Michael L. P. Elliott is the associate director. Center for Quality Growth and Regional Development, and associate professor, with joint appointments to the Schools of City and Regional Planning and Public Policy at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He is a cofounder and has served as codirector of both the

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement