Hopkins, where he progressed through the ranks of the departments of medicine and cell biology. In 1993, he was recruited by then-department director Daniel Lane, Ph.D., to become a professor in the department of biological chemistry. He then served as the vice chancellor for science and technology at Duke University Medical Center where he guided the development of Duke’s biomedical research. In 2008, he took his current position at Johns Hopkins. Dr. Agre was elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences in 2000, to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2003, and to the Institute of Medicine in 2005. He holds two U.S. patents on the isolation, cloning and expression of aquaporins 1 and 5, and he is the principal investigator on four current National Institutes of Health grants. Dr. Agre was awarded the 2003 Nobel Prize in Chemistry by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. The Academy recognized him for his laboratory’s 1991 discovery of the long-sought “channels” that regulate and facilitate water molecule transport through cell membranes, a process essential to all living organisms. He is a member of the Committee on Human Rights of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine. In February 2009, Dr. Agre was inducted as the 169th President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

ENRIQUETA BOND [IOM] served, from 1994 to 2008, as the first full-time president of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund (BWF), a private, independent foundation dedicated to advancing the medical sciences by supporting research and other scientific and educational activities. During her presidency, Dr. Bond guided BWF in its transition from a corporate to a private independent foundation and its endowment grew from $400 million to $800 million. Prior to joining the BWF, Dr. Bond served as the chief executive officer for the Institute of Medicine. In 1997, Dr. Bond was elected as a full member to the Institute of Medicine. In 2004, she was elected as a fellow to the American Association for the Advancement of Science for her distinguished contributions to the study and analysis of policy for the advancement of the health sciences. Dr. Bond is chairman of the National Research Council’s Board on African Science Academy Development and a member of the Forum on Microbial Threats. She is a past member of the Report Review Committee as well as numerous other study committees. Dr. Bond is the recipient of numerous honors, including the 2008 Order of the Long Leaf Pine award from the state of North Carolina. This is the highest honor the governor can bestow on a citizen and was awarded to Dr. Bond for her efforts to improve science education for children of North Carolina. She has also received the Institute of Medicine Walsh McDermott Medal, in recognition of distinguished service to the National Academies, and the National Academy of Sciences

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement