Professional Staff Award. She received her bachelor’s degree from Wellesley College, her M.A. from the University of Virginia, and her Ph.D. in molecular biology and biochemical genetics from Georgetown University.

C.W. “PAUL” CHU [NAS] is T.L.L. Temple Chair of Science and professor of physics at the University of Houston and served from 2001 to 2009 as president of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. Dr. Chu was born in Hunan, China, and received his bachelor of science from Cheng-Kung University in Taiwan. After service with the Nationalist Chinese Air Force, he earned his master of science from Fordham University and his doctorate at the University of California at San Diego. All three degrees were in physics. He is a pioneer in the field of high-temperature superconductivity whose groundbreaking research has earned him global recognition. After 2 years of industrial research with Bell Laboratories, Dr. Chu took an academic appointment at Cleveland State University. He stayed there for 9 years. He assumed his appointment at the University of Houston in 1979. At various times, he has served as a consultant and a visiting staff member at Bell Labs, Los Alamos National Lab, the Marshall Space Flight Center, Argonne National Lab, and DuPont. He is the founding director of the Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston and serves as the center’s senior science adviser. Dr. Chu is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Academia Sinica, and the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World. He also was elected a foreign member of the Russian Academy of Engineering. Dr. Chu has received numerous awards, including the 1988 National Medal of Science, the highest honor possible for a scientist in the United States, for his work on high-temperature superconductivity. The White House appointed Dr. Chu to be among 12 distinguished scientists who will evaluate National Medal of Science nominees. He also has been awarded the Bernd Matthias Prize and the John Fritz Medal, which he holds with science and engineering icons such as Alexander Graham Bell and Thomas Edison.

FRANCISCO G. CIGARROA [IOM] was appointed the 10th chancellor of The University of Texas (UT) System by the UT System Board of Regents on January 9, 2009. He began his service as the UT System’s chief administrative officer on February 2, 2009. As chancellor, Dr. Cigarroa oversees one of the largest public systems of higher education in the nation, with nine universities and six health institutions, an annual operating budget of $11.5 billion (FY 2009), including $2.5 billion in sponsored programs funded by federal, state, local and private sources, and more than 194,000 students and 84,000 employees. Dr. Cigarroa also serves as vice chairman for policy on the Board of Directors of The University of

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement