Health Council of Massachusetts (1976-1979), as chairman of the Health Care Technology Study Section of the National Center for Health Services Research (1982-1985), and as president of the Association of Schools of Public Health (1995-1996). He is the author or co-author of numerous books and articles on subjects ranging from AIDS prevention to medical education. He holds four degrees from Harvard, including M.D. and Ph.D. in public policy.

TOBY HORN is co-director of the Carnegie Academy for Science Education at the Carnegie Institution of Washington. She joined the faculty of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology in Fairfax County, VA, two weeks before the doors opened in 1985. As co-director of the Life Science and Biotechnology Laboratory for nearly 14 years, she developed one of the first high school biotechnology programs for students in grades 9-12. After two years as outreach coordinator for the Fralin Biotechnology Center at Virginia Tech, she joined the Carnegie Institution to work in District of Columbia Public Schools. Other relevant activities include membership on the NAS committee to revise Science, Evolution, and Creationism, recipient of the Bruce Alberts Award (2009), president of the National Association of Biology Teachers (2006), and current member on the National Visiting Committee for the Bio-Link National Center of Excellence. She holds an A.B. in chemistry from Bryn Mawr College and a Ph.D. in MCD biology from the University of Colorado, Boulder. She was also a staff fellow at the National Cancer Institute for five years.

FREEMAN A. HRABOWSKI, III, has served as president of the University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC) since 1992. His research and publications focus on science and math education, with special emphasis on minority participation and performance. He chaired the National Academies committee that recently produced the report Expanding Underrepresented Minority Participation: America’s Science and Technology Talent at the Crossroads. In 2008, he was named one of America’s Best Leaders by U.S. News & World Report, which in 2009, 2010, and 2011 ranked UMBC as the #1 “Up and Coming” university in the nation. In 2009, Time magazine named him one of America’s 10 Best College Presidents. In 2011, he received the TIAA-CREF Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence and the Carnegie Corporation of New York’s Academic Leadership Award. With philanthropist Robert Meyerhoff, he co-founded the Meyerhoff Scholars Program in 1988, considered a national model. He has authored numerous articles and co-authored two books, Beating the Odds and Overcoming the Odds (Oxford University Press), focusing on parenting and high-achieving African American males and females in science.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement