EAggEC     enteroaggregative Escherichia coli
EFSA     European Food Safety Authority
EID     emerging infectious disease
EIEC     enteroinvasive Escherichia coli
EHEC     enterohemorrhagic Escherichia coli
EPEC     enteropathogenic Escherichia coli
ERS     Economic Research Service
ESBL     extended-spectrum β-lactamase
ETEC     enterotoxigenic Escherichia coli
FAO     Food and Agriculture Organization
FDA     Food and Drug Administration
FMD     foot and mouth disease
FMI     Food Marketing Institute
FSIS     Food Safety and Inspection Service
FSMA     Food Safety Modernization Act
GABHS     Group A beta-hemolytic streptococcus
GAO     government accountability office
GAP     good agricultural practice
GBS     Guillain-Barré syndrome
GVFI     global virus forecasting initiative
HACCP     hazard analysis and critical control point
HAV     hepatitis A virus
HEV     hepatitis E virus
HIV     human immunodeficiency virus
HPAI     highly pathogenic avian influenza
HTLV     human T-lymphotropic viruses
HUS     hemolytic uremic syndrome
IHR     International Health Regulations
IOM     Institute of Medicine
LAMP     loop-mediated isothermal amplification
MALDI     matrix-assisted laser desorption—ionization
MMR     measles, mumps, and rubella
MS     mass spectroscopy
NAQS     National Australian Quarantine Strategy
NARMS     National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System
NIFA     National Institute of Food and Agriculture

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement