Brown American Innovators Award. Dr. Dean was appointed an IBM Fellow in 1995, IBM’s highest technical honor. He is a member of the IBM Academy of Technology. Dr. Dean has more than 40 patents or patents pending. He received a BSEE degree from the University of Tennessee in 1979, an MSEE degree from Florida Atlantic University in 1982, and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Stanford University in 1992.

Deborah L. Estrin is a professor of computer science at UCLA and is director of the NSF-funded Center for Embedded Networked Sensing (CENS). Professor Estrin received her Ph.D. (1985) in computer science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, her M.S. (1982) from MIT, and her B.S. (1980) from the University of California, Berkeley. Before joining UCLA she was a member of the University of Southern California Computer Science Department from 1986 through the middle of 2000. In 1987, Professor Estrin received the National Science Foundation‘s Presidential Young Investigator Award for her research in network interconnection and security. During the subsequent 10 years much of her research focused on the design of network and routing protocols for very large, global networks, self-configuring protocol mechanisms for scalability and robustness, and tools and methods for designing and studying large-scale networks. Since the late 1990s Professor Estrin has been collaborating with her colleagues and students to develop protocols and systems architectures needed to realize rapidly deployable and robustly operating networks of many hundreds of physically embedded devices, e.g., sensor networks. She is particularly interested in the application of spatially and temporally dense embedded sensors to environmental monitoring. Dr. Estrin has been a co-principal investigator on many NSF- and DARPA-funded projects. She chaired a 1997-1998 ISAT study on sensor networks and the 2001 NRC study on networked embedded computing which produced the report Embedded, Everywhere. Professor Estrin serves on the advisory committees for the NSF Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) and Environmental Research and Education (ERE) Directorates. She is a fellow of the ACM, AAAS, and IEEE. She has served on numerous panels for the NSF, National Academy of Sciences/NRC, and DARPA. She has also served as an editor for the ACM/IEEE Transactions on Networks and as a program committee member for many networking-related conferences, including Sigcomm and Infocom. She was general co-chair for the first ACM Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems, SenSys 2003. She was also an associate editor for the new ACM Transactions on Sensor Networks and was a member of the National Research Council’s Computer Science and Telecommunications Board from 2004 to 2011.

James T. Kajiya is currently a director of research at Microsoft Corporation. From 1994 to 1997, Dr. Kajiya was a senior researcher at Microsoft Research, where he built and led the graphics group. His recent work has focused on very-high-quality computer graphics. Most recently, Dr. Kajiya has returned to graphics hardware design. He was the principal architect on Talisman, a low-cost hardware architecture for very-high-quality real-time three-dimensional graphics. Dr. Kajiya also served as the principal investigator on a joint research project with IBM that produced an implementation of Prolog yielding a speed of 0.9 megalips and a new object-oriented systems programming language called FITH. In other work, he explored parallel ray tracing on the IBM RP3 and specified software architecture for scientific visualization in the IBM SVS, which became the Power Visualization System. In joint work with TRW, he has served as architect for supercomputers oriented toward military signal- and image-processing tasks. Dr. Kajiya has served on the external advisory board of the Defense Mapping Agency, on the National Neurocircuitry Database Committee for the National Academy of Sciences and Institute of Medicine, and on the

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement