SIGGRAPH executive committee. He received the SIGGRAPH Technical Achievement Award in 1991 and served as the technical program chair for SIGGRAPH 93. In 1997, Dr. Kajiya, along with Dr. Timothy Kay, received an Academy Award (technical certificate) for work on rendering hair and fur. In 2002 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for contributions to formal and practical methods of computer image generation. He received a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Utah.

Prabhakar Raghavan is vice president of engineering at Google, Inc. He is also a consulting professor of computer science at Stanford University. His research interests include text and Web mining and algorithm design, and he has authored two textbooks on the subjects. Dr. Raghavan received his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley, and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of the ACM and the IEEE. Prior to joining Google he was head of Yahoo! Labs and before that, senior vice-president and chief technology officer at Verity; before that he held a number of technical and managerial positions at IBM Research.

Andrew J. Viterbi is a co-founder and retired vice chair and chief technical officer of QUALCOMM Incorporated. He spent equal portions of his career in industry, having previously co-founded Linkabit Corporation, and in academia as a professor in the Schools of Engineering and Applied Science, first at UCLA and then at UCSD, at which he is now a professor emeritus. He is currently president of the Viterbi Group, a technical advisory and investment company. He also serves as Presidential Chair Visiting Professor at the University of Southern California and as a distinguished visiting professor at the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology. Dr. Viterbi has received numerous honors both in the United States and internationally. Among these are seven honorary doctorates, from universities in Canada, Israel, Italy, and the United States; the Marconi International Fellowship Award; the IEEE Alexander Graham Bell, the Claude Shannon, and the James Clerk Maxwell Awards; the NEC C&C Award; the Eduard Rhein Foundation Award; the Christopher Columbus Medal, the Franklin Medal, and the Robert Noyes Semiconductor Industry Award; the Millennium Laureate Award; and the IEEE’s highest award, the Medal of Honor. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Sciences and is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has received an honorary title from the president of Italy and the National Medal of Science from the president of the United States. Dr. Viterbi serves on boards and committees of numerous nonprofit institutions, including the University of Southern California, MIT (Visiting Committee for Bioengineering), Mathematical Sciences Research Institute, Burnham Institute for Medical Research, and Scripps Translational Science Institute, and he is the past chair of the Computer and Information Sciences Section of the National Academy of Sciences.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement