(MSU), the Holifield Radioactive Ion Beam Facility (HRIBF) facility at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), and the Argonne Tandem Linear Accelerator System (ATLAS) at Argonne National Laboratory (ANL). Dr. Aprahamian is co-chair of the Department of Energy (DOE) standing subcommittee on isotope production and applications of the Nuclear Science Advisory Committee (NSAC) and was the National Science Foundation (NSF) program director for nuclear physics and nuclear astrophysics. She is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and the APS.

Ricardo Alarcon is a professor of physics at Arizona State University. He did his undergraduate studies at the University of Chile and received his Ph.D. in 1985 from Ohio University. He did postdoctoral work at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign until 1989, when he joined Arizona State University as an assistant professor. His research covers experiments in electromagnetic nuclear physics and, more recently, in fundamental neutron science. He has held visiting professor appointments at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1995-1997 and 1999-2001 and served as project manager for the Bates Large Acceptance Spectrometer project at MIT-Bates from 1999 to 2002. He was a member of the DOE/ NSF NSAC from 2001 to 2005. In 2003, he was elected a fellow of the APS. He was a member of the NRC Committee on Rare Isotope Science Assessment.

Gordon A. Baym is a professor of physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He received his bachelor’s degree in physics from Cornell University and his A.M. in mathematics and Ph.D. in physics from Harvard University. Dr. Baym has made seminal contributions to many fields, including developing much of the current understanding of the nature of neutron stars, relativistic effects in nuclear physics, condensed matter physics, quantum fluids, and most recently, Bose-Einstein condensates. He has written two textbooks on quantum mechanics and quantum statistical mechanics and has made major contributions to the scholarly study of the history of physics. Dr. Baym is a member of the NAS and the APS and was awarded the Hans A. Bethe Prize of the American Physical Society in 2002. He has participated in many activities for the NAS, NRC, and the Board on Physics and Astronomy (BPA), including serving as chair of the physics section of the NAS, participating in several decadal studies, and serving on the BPA governing board.

Elizabeth Beise is a professor of physics and interim associate provost for academic planning and programs at the University of Maryland in College Park. Her principal research interests in experimental nuclear physics focus on the use of electromagnetic and weak probes of the internal structure of protons, neutrons, and light nuclei, and on the use of nuclear physics techniques to test fundamental symmetries. She received the Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award from the APS in 1998

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement