experimentalist with broad expertise in low- and medium-energy nuclear physics. He brings knowledge of studies of light nuclei, the nucleon, and low-energy tests of fundamental symmetries. Dr. Holt is a fellow of the APS and of the IOP. He was the 2005 recipient of the Tom W. Bonner Prize of the APS for his experimental work in nuclear physics. He served on the NSAC subcommittee to generate the 2007 Long Range Plan in Nuclear Physics. During 1994-2000, he served as professor of physics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he was also a director of the Nuclear Physics Laboratory. He has served on scientific program advisory committees for a number of accelerator facilities, including the Los Alamos Meson Physics Facility, the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, MIT-Bates, the Indiana University Cyclotron Facility, and the Jefferson National Laboratory (JLAB) (chair); on NSAC subcommittees; and review panels for DOE, NSF, and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) of Canada; and on the editorial boards of Physical Review C, Nuclear Physics A, and Journal of Physics G.

Karlheinz Langanke is the director of research at the GSI Helmholtz Zentrum für Schwerionenforschung in Darmstadt, Germany. He also is full professor at the Technische Universität Darmstadt and a senior fellow at the Frankfurt Institute of Advanced Studies. Before taking his current positions he held a chair for theoretical physics at Aarhus University in Denmark and has been a senior research associate at Caltech. His research expertise is in nuclear structure and reaction theory as well as in nuclear astrophysics. Dr. Langanke is supervisory editor for Nuclear Physics A and a member of the editorial boards of Few Body Systems and the Atomic Data and Nuclear Data Tables. Dr. Langanke serves on many advisory committees, including the International Science Advisory Committee of FRIB, to be constructed at the MSU site, and of the Institute of Physical and Chemical Research (RIKEN) in Tokyo. He has been the chairman of the Program Advisory Committee of TRIUMF (once known as the Tri-University Meson Facility) (Vancouver, Canada) and served on the program advisory committees of the Large Heavy Ion National Accelerator (GANIL) (France), the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)/Isolde (Switzerland), RIKEN (Japan), and GSI (Darmstadt). He has been a member of the board of several international science institutions, including the INT in Seattle, NORDITA in Copenhagen, Denmark, the Joint Institute for Nuclear Astrophysics in the United States, and the European Center for Theoretical Nuclear Physics in Trento, Italy. Dr. Langanke has been a co-convener of the Nuclear Physics European Collaboration Committee (NuPECC) Long Range Plan in nuclear physics, written in 2003. During the last 16 months, Dr. Langanke has given lecture series on nuclear astrophysics at seven institutions and schools on four continents.

Cherry A. Murray (NAS/NAE) is dean of the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences and serves as chair of the NRC’s Division on Engineering and

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement