hazardous waste management regulations. Dr. Cramer currently chairs the Joint Ordnance Commanders Group Environmental Subgroup and is a member of the Joint Army-Navy-NASA-Air Force Safety and Environmental Subcommittee and is the Navy representative on the Interagency Committee on Explosives. He supports the Navy on the Clean Air Act, the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA), and EPCRA/TRI Services steering committees. He has given numerous presentations to the technical community, published several papers, and is the inventor for eight patents.

Eric D. Erickson is a senior scientist in the Energetics Research Division of the Weapons and Energetics Department at the Naval Air Warfare Center in China Lake, California, where he provides technical support for several weapons program offices. Before that, Dr. Erickson was a principal investigator in the Instrumental Analytical Chemistry Branch in the Research and Intelligence Department at the Center. His research activities have included the development of several ordnance demilitarization technologies and the monitoring of their emissions. Dr. Erickson received a B.S. in chemistry from Oregon State University and a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from Michigan State University. He also has a certificate of achievement in industrial hygiene from San Diego City College.

Brad E. Forch has been the Army Chief Scientist for Ballistics (ST) for the Weapons and Materials Research Directorate at the U.S. Army Research Laboratory since January 2009. His research expertise is in a wide range of ballistics, including developing the fundamental understanding of chemical and physical mechanisms controlling chemical energy storage, ignition, combustion, and release in propellants, explosives, and novel energetic material structures for weapons applications. He was the chief of the Propulsion Science Branch in the Ballistics and Weapons Concepts Division of the Weapons and Materials Research Directorate from 2000 to 2009 and chief of the Ignition and Combustion Branch in the Propulsion and Flight Division of the Weapons Technology Directorate from 1995 to 2000. As a supervisory research physicist, Dr. Forch was responsible for the direction of a wide range of basic and applied scientific research and concept development activities in ballistics, energetic materials, novel propellants and explosives, nanoenergetic materials, reactive materials, and ignition and combustion research. He served as a research scientist and team leader from 1986 to 1995 in the Interior Ballistics Division of what was then the U.S. Army Ballistic Research Laboratory (BRL). His work focused on research leading to applications of lasers for the initiation of propellants and propelling charges for large-caliber guns and the development of ignition systems and requirements for current and future propulsion systems. Dr. Forch was a NRC postdoctoral fellow at the BRL in 1985. His primary areas of research included the application of laser-based techniques such as multiphoton photochemistry, multiphoton fluorescence and ionization spectroscopy, and laser photochemistry to understand the detailed chemistry and energy-releasing processes of energetic materials. Dr. Forch received a B.S. in chemistry and an M.S. in physical chemistry from Illinois State University in 1978 and 1979, respectively. He received a Ph.D. in physical chemistry/chemical physics from Wayne State University, in Michigan, in 1984.

Scott E. Meyer is the managing director of the Maurice Zucrow Laboratories at Purdue University. He is responsible for the safe and productive utilization of Zucrow Labs’ unique research and testing capabilities. He collaborates with faculty in the development of new experimental capabilities and is responsible for the design and implementation of new facility

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement