performance improvement trends in computer architecture, and on the design implications for future high-performance processors and systems. He won an NSF CAREER award (2000), was selected as an Alfred P. Sloan research fellow (2002), won the Edith and Peter O’Donnell Award for Engineering (2010), and won six IBM Faculty Partnership awards. Dr. Keckler is coauthor of four papers selected by IEEE Micro Top Picks and co-won best paper awards at the 2009 International Symposium on Architectural Support for Programming Languages and Operating Systems (ASPLOS) and the 2011 International Symposium on Performance Analysis of Systems and Software (ISPASS). He has also won top teaching awards at the University of Texas at Austin, including the College of Natural Sciences Teaching Excellence Award (2001) and the President’s Associates Teaching Excellence Award (2007). Dr. Keckler also served as a member of the Defense Science Study Group, sponsored by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), (2008–2009). Dr. Keckler earned a B.S. in electrical engineering from Stanford University (1990), and an M.S. (1992) and a Ph.D. (1998) in computer science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

DAVID LIDDLE has been a partner at U.S. Venture Partners, a Silicon Valley–based venture capital firm, since 2000. He cofounded, and between 1992 and 1999, he served as president and CEO of, Interval Research Corporation, a Silicon Valley–based laboratory and incubator for new businesses focusing on broadband, consumer devices, interaction design, and advanced technologies. Prior to cofounding Interval with Paul Allen, Dr. Liddle founded Metaphor, which was acquired by IBM in 1991, which named him vice president of business development for IBM Personal Systems. Dr. Liddle’s extensive experience in research and development has focused largely on human-computer interactions and includes 10 years at Xerox Palo Alto Research Center (PARC), from 1972 to 1982. He has been a director of Sybase, Broderbund Software, Borland International, and Ticketmaster, and is currently on the board of the New York Times Company. His board involvement at U.S. Venture Partners includes Electric Cloud, Instantis, Klocwork, MaxLinear, and Optichron. Dr. Liddle has served on the DARPA Information Science and Technology Committee, and as chair of the National Academy of Sciences Computer Science and Telecommunications Board.

Dr. Liddle earned a B.S. in electrical engineering at the University of Michigan and a Ph.D. in electrical and engineering and computer science at the University of Toledo, where his dissertation focused on reconfigurable computing machines and theories of encryption, encoding, and signal recovery. His contributions to human-computer interaction design earned him the distinction of senior fellow at the Royal College of Art.

KATHRYN MCKINLEY is principal researcher at Microsoft Research and holds an Endowed Professorship of Computer Science at the University of Texas at Austin. She previously was a professor at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

Dr. McKinley’s research interests include programming language implementation, compilers, memory management, runtime systems, security, reliability, and architecture. Her research group has produced numerous tools, algorithms, and methodologies that are in wide research and industrial use, such as the DaCapo Java Benchmarks, the TRIPS compiler, the Hoard memory manager, the Memory Management Toolkit (MMTk), and the Immix mark-region garbage collector. For example, the Apple operating system uses the Hoard memory management algorithm, the TRIPS compiler was the first demonstration of a compiling general-purpose programming language to execute on a dataflow architecture, and the DaCapo Benchmarks are the most widely used Java benchmarks for performance and verification in both research and testing.

Dr. McKinley was named an ACM fellow (2008) for contributions to compilers and memory management and an IEEE fellow (2011) for contributions to compiler technologies. She was awarded the 2011 ACM SIGPLAN Distinguished Service Award. She has served as the technical program chair for ASPLOS, PACT, PLDI, ISMM, and CGO (ACM and IEEE conferences). She was coeditor-in-chief of ACM’s Transactions on Programming Language Systems (or TOPLAS) (2007–2010). She was a Computer Research Association’s Committee on the Status of Women in Computer Science (CRA-W) board member (2009–2011) and is currently a cochair of CRA-W (2011–present), which seeks to improve the participation of women in computing research nationwide. Her research awards include two CACM Research Highlights Invited Papers (2012, 2008), IEEE Micro Top Picks (2012), Best Paper at ASPLOS (2009), David Bruton Jr. Centennial Fellowship (2005–2006), six IBM Faculty Fellowship Awards (2003–2008), and an NSF CAREER Award (1996–2000). She is a recipient of the 2011 ACM SIGPLAN Software Award. Dr. McKinley has graduated fourteen Ph.D. students. She received a B.A., M.S., and Ph.D. from Rice University.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement