National Cancer Policy Forum, the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer, the Radiation Therapy Oncology Group, and the Southwest Oncology Group. He has served as chair and vice chair for a number of these organizations’ committees and subcommittees. Dr. Herbst is the recipient of ASCO’s Young Investigator Award and Career Development Award, as well as the MD Anderson Cancer Center Physician Scientist Program Award. His work has been funded by ASCO, AACR, the Department of Defense, and the National Cancer Institute (NCI).

Dr. Herbst earned his M.D. at Cornell University Medical College and his Ph.D. in Molecular Cell Biology at the Rockefeller University in New York City. His postgraduate training included an internship and residency in medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston. His clinical fellowships in medicine and hematology were completed at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Brigham and Women’s Hospital, respectively. Dr. Herbst completed his M.S. in clinical translational research at Harvard University.

David B. Abrams, Ph.D., is the executive director of the Schroeder Institute for Tobacco Research and Policy Studies at Legacy and professor at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and Georgetown University Medical Center. Dr. Abrams is a clinical health psychologist and former director of the Office of Behavioral and Social Sciences Research at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). He has published more than 250 scholarly articles and been a principal or co-investigator on 65 grants, including an NCI Program Project award for a Transdisciplinary Tobacco Use Research Center. Dr. Abrams is lead author of The Tobacco Dependence Treatment Handbook: A Guide to Best Practices, a recipient of a book of the year award. He was a member of the Board of Scientific Advisors of NCI, and served on the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Transdisciplinary Tobacco Etiology Research Network and several IOM committees. Dr. Abrams received the Joseph Cullen Memorial Award from the American Society for Preventive Oncology (ASPO) for lifetime contributions to tobacco control, and was president of the Society for Behavioral Medicine and a recipient of their Distinguished Scientist and Mentorship awards. Since 2009, he has focused on regulatory science to inform the Food and Drug Administration’s (FDA’s) Center for Tobacco Products, including development of a strategic research agenda, convening expert thought leaders, conducting research, and providing knowledge synthesis in areas including menthol regulation, reduced harm, emerging products, and evaluation

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement