Click for next page ( 17

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 16
Lifelong Learning Imperative in Engineering A PPENDIX A LIFELONG LEARNING IMPERATIVE IN ENGINEERING ORGANIZING COMMITTEE FOR THE JUNE 17-18, 2009, WORKSHOP Linda Katehi (NAE), Chair, Provost, and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign John Seely Brown, Senior Fellow, Annenberg Center for Communication at University of Southern California, and Past Chief Scientist, Xerox Corporation James J. Duderstadt (NAE), President Emeritus and University Professor of Science and Engineering, University of Michigan Patrick J. Natale, Executive Director, American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) James B. Porter, Jr. (NAE), Chief Engineer and Vice President (retired), Engineering and Operations, E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company Betty Shanahan, Executive Director and CEO, Society of Women Engineers (SWE) Philip Woodrow, Executive Director of Science & Technology Development, Merck Manufacturing, Division of Merck & Co., Inc. Wm. A. Wulf (NAE), University AT&T Professor (retired), University of Virginia, and Past President, National Academy of Engineering  Affiliations shown are those at the time of committee membership. 16

OCR for page 16
Lifelong Learning Imperative in Engineering LIFELONG LEARNING IMPERATIVE IN ENGINEERING WORKSHOP AGENDA, JUNE 17-18, 2009 June 17 6:30PM: WORKSHOP DINNER Lifelong Learning in Medicine: What We Have Learned Dr. Chris Cassel, President, American Board of Internal Medicine June 18 Lifelong Learning Imperative in the Knowledge Age: Needs, Challenges, and Opportunities 8:00AM: The LLI Project Background & Workshop Objectives Debasish Dutta, Program Chair Linda Katehi, Organizing Committee Chair 8:15AM: Learning and the 21st Century Workforce Charles M. Vest, President, National Academy of Engineering 8:45AM: Two Score and More: A Lifetime of Learning for Keeping Engineers at the Fore Arden Bement, Director, National Science Foundation 9:15AM: Lifelong Learning and Universities: Options and Opportunities Dan Mote, President (retired), University of Maryland 10:00AM: BREAK 10:10AM: Federal Agency Panel Steve Koonin, Under Secretary, Department of Energy Tom Kalil, Deputy Director (Policy), OSTP Tom Peterson, Assistant Director of Engineering, NSF 11:10AM: Lifelong Learning on a Smarter Planet Nick Donofrio, IBM Fellow and Executive Vice President I&T Alumnus 12:00PM: LUNCH 17

OCR for page 16
Lifelong Learning Imperative in Engineering 12:45PM: Professional Society Panel Enrique Gomez, SHPE Jerry Galloway, ASCE Peter Finn, SWE 1:45PM: Breakout sessions LLI Models and Program Structure James Porter, Moderator (Organizing Committee) Myles Boylan/NSF, Co-moderator (scribe) LLI Content and Certification Philip Woodrow, Moderator (Organizing Committee) Anthony Walters/NSF, Co-moderator (scribe) Cyberinfrastructure Support for LLI Patrick Natale, Moderator (Organizing Committee) Ping Ge/NSF, Co-moderator (scribe) Organizational Model for LLI Elizabeth Shanahan, Moderator (Organizing Committee) Carol Stoel/NSF, Co-moderator (scribe) 3:15PM: BREAK 3:30PM: Report-back Session (15 min each) James Porter: LLI Models and Program Structure Philip Woodrow: LLI Content and Certification Patrick Natale: Cyberinfrastructure Support for LLI Elizabeth Shanahan: Organizational Model for LLI 4:30PM: Next Steps & Adjourn Debasish Dutta, Program Chair Linda Katehi, Organizing Committee Chair 18