unit’s national security programs, was responsible for strategic planning and the investment strategy for the DSA, and assisted with implementation of the laboratory’s cyber strategy. From 2003 to 2007, Campbell led the Assessment Technologies Group in Sandia’s Information Systems Analysis Center. She was responsible for development, coordination, and oversight of programs focusing on vulnerability assessments and development of national security solutions in information technologies for multiple government sponsors. From 1999 to 2003 she was manager of the Microsystems Partnerships Department, which assessed and addressed microelectronics vulnerabilities for a variety of government sponsors. In that role Campbell led Sandia’s program to support the DoD Anti-Tamper Initiative. She joined the technical staff at Sandia in 1985 and had assignments in the Materials and Process Center and the Microsystems Science, Technology, and Components Center. She conducted research on the microstructure and physical properties of advanced materials, the physics of microelectronics failures, and the development of advanced microelectronics failure analysis techniques. Campbell serves on the National Academies’ Standing Committee on Technology Insight—Gauge, Evaluate and Review (TIGER). She is a senior member of IEEE and served as vice president of membership for the IEEE Reliability Society and on the Management Committee and board of directors for the IEEE International Reliability Physics Symposium. She has more than 20 publications and several patents. She holds a B.S. degree in materials engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in applied physics (materials science concentration) from Harvard University.

Dean R. Collins recently retired as a deputy director of DARPA’s Microsystems Technology Office (MTO); as a chief scientist he was responsible for the monitoring, analysis, and evaluation of research projects directed by MTO program managers and also participated in the concept planning for leading MTO into new programs beyond the current state of the art in electronics, photonics, microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), component architectures, and algorithms. He managed the MTO program on integrated circuit cybersecurity. Prior to joining DARPA, Collins was director for the Advanced Research and Development Activity (ARDA) in information technology. ARDA functioned as a joint activity of the intelligence community and the Department of Defense, addressing high-risk/high-payoff information technology problems that had broad impact across both supporting communities. Collins initiated ARDA’s key cyber security effort. He was also a member of the intelligence community Advanced Research and Development Committee and managed the ARDA quantum information science effort. Prior to joining ARDA, Collins was with the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), where he was chief of the High Performance Systems and Services Division, the largest division at NIST. This position focused on information technology with a strong commercial bias, and the topics investigated ranged from biometrics to electronic books. Previously, Collins was with Texas Instruments, as director of the System Components Lab, which was responsible for all research on III-V devices, nanoelectronics, photonics, and neural networks. Prior to that, he was director of the Interface Technology Lab, which was responsible for all sensor and display research, including LCDs, DLPs, and CCDs. Collins is a fellow of the IEEE, a member of the American Physical Society, and a registered professional engineer. He has published more than 40 refereed articles and has 10 issued U.S. patents.

Sharon C. Glotzer is the Stuart W. Churchill Collegiate Professor of Chemical Engineering and a professor of materials science and engineering at the University of Michigan (UM), Ann Arbor, and is director of research computing in the UM College of Engineering. She also holds faculty appointments in physics, applied physics, and macromolecular science and engineering. She received a B.S. in physics from UCLA and a Ph.D. in physics from Boston University. Prior to joining UM, she worked at the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Her research focuses on computational nanoscience and simulation of soft matter, self-assembly and materials design, and computational science and engineering and is sponsored by the DoD, DoE, NSF, and

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement