Click for next page ( 184

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 183
Spends K Commission on P~ca1 Scioncos, ~athcmadcs, and Rcsources 183

OCR for page 183
184 COMMISSION ON PHYSICAL SCIENCES, MATHEMATICS, AND RESOURCES Norman Hackerman, Chairman, Robert A. Welch Foundation, Houston, Texas Robert C. Beardsley, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole, Massachusetts B. Clark Burchfiel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts George F. Carrier, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts Ralph J. Cicerone, National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado Herbert D. Dean, The Dow Chemical Co. (retired), Midland, Michigan Peter S. Eagleson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts Dean E. Eastman, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, New York Marye Anne Fox, University of Texas, Austin, Texas Gerliart Friedlander, Brookhaven National Laboratory Associated Universities, Inc., Long Island, New York Lawrence W. Funkhouser, Chevron Corp. (retired), Menlo Park, California Phillip A. Griffiths, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina Neal F. Lane, Rice University, Houston, Texas Christopher F. McKee, University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, California Richard S. Nicholson, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, D.C. Jack E. Oliver, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York Jeremiah P. Ostriker, Princeton University Observatory, Princeton, New Jersey Philip A. Palmer, E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., Newark, Delaware Frank L. Parker, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee Denis J. Prager, MacArthur Foundation, Chicago, Illinois David M. Raup, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois Roy F. Schwitters, Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory, Dallas, Texas Larry L. Smarr, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Champaign, Illinois Karl K. Turekian, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut Myron F. Uman, Acting Executive Director Robert M. Simon, Acting Associate Executive Director APPENDIX K