Click for next page ( 116

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 115
TRB OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE FOR THE STRATEGIC HIGHWAY RESEARCH PROGRAM 2* CHAIR: Kirk T. Steudle, Director, Michigan Department of Transportation MEMBERS H. Norman Abramson, Executive Vice President (Retired), Southwest Research Institute Anne P. Canby, President, Surface Transportation Policy Partnership Alan C. Clark, MPO Director, Houston-Galveston Area Council Frank L. Danchetz, Vice President, ARCADIS G&M, Inc. Dan Flowers, Director, Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Stanley Gee, Executive Deputy Commissioner, New York State Department of Transportation Michael P. Lewis, Director. Rhode Island Department of Transportation Susan Martinovich, Director, Nevada Department of Transportation John R. Njord, Executive Director, Utah Department of Transportation Charles F. Potts, Chief Executive Officer, Heritage Construction and Materials Pete K. Rahn, Director, Missouri Department of Transportation Gerald Ross, Chief Engineer, Georgia Department of Transportation George E. Schoener, Executive Director, I-95 Corridor Coalition Kumares C. Sinha, Olson Distinguished Professor of Civil Engineering, Purdue University EX OFFICIO Michael F. Trentacoste, Director of Safety, Research and Development, Federal Highway Administration Jeffrey F. Paniatti, Acting Deputy Administrator and Executive Director, Federal Highway Administration Andrew T. Horosko, Deputy Minister, Manitoba Infrastructure and Transportation John C. Horsley, Executive Director, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials LIAISONS John Pearson, Program Director, Council of Deputy Ministers Responsible for Transportation and Highway Safety Jack D. Jernigan, Legislation & Budget Analyst, Federal Highway Administration CAPACITY TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE* CO-CHAIR: Neil J. Pedersen, Administrator, Maryland State Highway Administration CO-CHAIR: Mary Lynn Tischer, Director, Multimodal Transportation Planning Office, Virginia Department of Transportation MEMBERS Kome Ajise, Acting Deputy Director for Planning and Modal Program, California Department of Transportation Jacquelyn D. Grimshaw, Vice President for Policy, Center for Neighborhood Technology Kris Hoellen, Director, Conservation Leadership Network, The Conservation Fund Charles E. Howard, Jr., Director, Transportation Planning, Puget Sound Regional Council Carolyn H. Ismart, Florida Department of Transportation (Retired) Thomas J. Kane, Executive Director, Des Moines Area MPO J. Michael Kelley, Chief Sustainability Officer, YRC Worldwide, Inc. Keith L. Killough, Assistant Director, Travel Demand Modeling & Analysis, Arizona Department of Transportation T. Keith Lawton, Keith Lawton Consulting, Inc. Gary McVoy, Director, Operations Division, New York State Department of Transportation Edward A. Mierzejewski, Director, Center for Urban Transportation Research, University of South Florida Joseph L. Schofer, Professor of Civil Engineering and Environmental Engineering and Associate Dean, McCormick School of Engineering & Applied Science, Northwestern University Barry Seymour, Executive Director, Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission Brian J. Smith, Director, Strategic Planning and Programming, Washington State Department of Transportation John V. Thomas, Office of Policy, Economics and Innovation, Environmental Protection Agency Gary Toth, Project for Public Spaces Mark Van Port Fleet, Director, Bureau of Highway Development, Michigan Department of Transportation Jeff Welch, Director, Knoxville Regional Transportation Planning Organization LIAISONS American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials: Janet P. Oakley, Director, Policy and Government Relations, Federal Highway Administration: David Yang, Highway Research Engineer, Felicia B. Young, Research & Financial Service Team Leader, and Jack Jernigan, Legislation and Budget Analyst, Ministre des Transports du Qubec: Thrse A. Trpanier, Direction de la recherche et de l'environnement, Transportation Research Board: Martine A. Micozzi, Management and Policy Specialist and Nanda Srinivasan, Senior Program Officer *Membership as of June 2009.