Cover Image

Not for Sale

View/Hide Left Panel
Click for next page ( 3

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 2
Transportation Research Board 2009 Executive Committee (Membership as of February 2009) Officers CHAIR: Adib K. Kanafani, Cahill Professor of Civil Engineering, Linda S. Watson, CEO, LYNXCentral Florida Regional University of California, Berkeley Transportation Authority, Orlando VICE CHAIR: Michael R. Morris, Director of Transportation, North Steve Williams, Chairman and CEO, Maverick Transportation, Inc., Central Texas Council of Governments, Arlington Little Rock, AR EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR: Robert E. Skinner, Jr., Transportation Research Board Ex Officio Members Thad Allen (Adm., U.S. Coast Guard), Commandant, U.S. Coast Members Guard, Washington, DC J. Barry Barker, Executive Director, Transit Authority of River City, Rebecca M. Brewster, President and COO, American Louisville, KY Transportation Research Institute, Smyrna, GA Allen D. Biehler, Secretary, Pennsylvania DOT, Harrisburg George Bugliarello, President Emeritus and University Professor, Polytechnic Institute of New York University, Brooklyn; Foreign Larry L. Brown, Sr., Executive Director, Mississippi DOT, Jackson Secretary, National Academy of Engineering, Washington, DC Deborah H. Butler, Executive Vice President, Planning, and CIO, James E. Caponiti, Acting Deputy Administrator, Maritime Norfolk Southern Corporation, Norfolk, VA Administration, U.S.DOT William A.V. Clark, Professor, Department of Geography, University Cynthia Douglass, Acting Deputy Administrator, Pipeline and of California, Los Angeles Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, U.S.DOT David S. Ekern, Commissioner, Virginia DOT, Richmond LeRoy Gishi, Chief, Division of Transportation, Bureau of Indian Nicholas J. Garber, Henry L. Kinnier Professor, Department of Civil Affairs, U.S. Department of the Interior, Washington, DC Engineering, University of Virginia, Charlottesville Edward R. Hamberger, President and CEO, Association of Jeffrey W. Hamiel, Executive Director, Metropolitan Airports American Railroads, Washington, DC Commission, Minneapolis, MN John C. Horsley, Executive Director, American Association of State Edward A. (Ned) Helme, President, Center for Clean Air Policy, Highway and Transportation Officials, Washington, DC Washington, DC Rose A. McMurry, Acting Deputy Administrator, Federal Motor Will Kempton, Director, California DOT, Sacramento Carrier Safety Administration, U.S.DOT Susan Martinovich, Director, Nevada DOT, Carson City Ronald Medford, Acting Deputy Administrator, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, U.S.DOT Debra L. Miller, Secretary, Kansas DOT, Topeka William W. Millar, President, American Public Transportation Neil J. Pedersen, Administrator, Maryland State Highway Association, Washington, DC Administration, Baltimore Lynne A. Osmus, Acting Administrator, Federal Aviation Pete K. Rahn, Director, Missouri DOT, Jefferson City Administration, U.S.DOT Sandra Rosenbloom, Professor of Planning, University of Arizona, Jeffrey F. Paniati, Acting Deputy Administrator and Executive Tucson Director, Federal Highway Administration, U.S.DOT Tracy L. Rosser, Vice President, Corporate Traffic, Wal-Mart Stores, Steven K. Smith, Acting Deputy Administrator, Research and Inc., Bentonville, AR Innovative Technology Administration, U.S.DOT Rosa Clausell Rountree, Consultant, Tyrone, GA Jo Strang, Acting Deputy Administrator, Federal Railroad Steve T. Scalzo, Chief Operating Officer, Marine Resources Group, Administration, U.S.DOT Seattle, WA Robert L. Van Antwerp (Lt. Gen., U.S. Army), Chief of Engineers Henry G. (Gerry) Schwartz, Jr., Chairman (retired), Jacobs/ and Commanding General, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Sverdrup Civil, Inc., St. Louis, MO Washington, DC C. Michael Walton, Ernest H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Matthew Welbes, Executive Director and Acting Deputy Engineering, University of Texas, Austin Administrator, Federal Transit Administration, U.S.DOT