Click for next page ( 168

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 167
CCommillee on Global Change and Oversight Commillee Members COMMITTEE ON GLOBAL CHANGE (U.S. National Committee for the IGBP) HAROLD MOONEY, Stanford University, Chairman PAUL G. RISSER, University of New Mexico, Vice Chairman D. JAMES BAKER, loins Oceanographic Institutions, Inc. FRANCIS BRETHERTON, University of Wisconsin KEVIN BURKE, Lear and Planetary institute WILLIAM C. CLARK, Harvard University MARGARET B. DAVIS, University of Minnesota ROBERT E. DICKINSON, National Center for Atmospheric Research JOHN IMBRIE, Brown University ROBERT KATES, Brown University THOMAS MALONE, St. Joseph College MICHAEL B. McELROY, Harvard University BERRIEN MOORE III, University of New Hampshire ELLEN S. MOSLEY-THOMPSON, Ohio State University PIERS J. SELLERS, University of Maryland 167

OCR for page 167
168 Ex-Off~cio Members U.S. Members, ICSU Special Committee for the IGBP JOHN A. EDDY, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research JAMES I. McCARTHY, Harvard University S. ICHTLAQUE RASOOL, National Aeronautics and Space Administration Staff JOHN S. PERRY, Staff Director RUTH S. DeFRIES, Staff Officer AD HOC COMMITTEE FOR OVERSIGHT OF THE COMMITTEE ON GLOBAL CHANGE APPENDIX C NORMAN HACKERMAN, Robert A. Welch Foundation (Chairman, Commission on Physical Sciences, Mathematics, and Resources), Convenor ROBERT McC. ADAMS, Smithsonian Institution (Chairman, Commission on Behavioral and Social Sciences and Eclucation) BRUCE ALBERTS, University of California, San Francisco (Chairman, Commission on l.ife Sciences) WILLIAM GORDON, Rice University (Foreign Secretary, National Academy of Sciences) Staff JOHN BURRIS, Executive Director, Commission on Life Sciences VICTOR RABINOWITCH, Executive Director, Office of International Affairs MYRON UMAN, Acting Executive Director, Commission on Physical Sciences, Mathematics, and Resources SUZANNE WOOLSEY, Executive Director, Commission on Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education