Cover Image

Not for Sale

View/Hide Left Panel
Click for next page ( 140

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 139
APPENDIX B Emergency Response Legal Authorities Name Description Public Laws Homeland Security This Act created the Department of Homeland Security and, Act of 2002 (6 among other things, defined first responder (see U.S.C. 101) definitions in Appendix D). This is the primary authority for Homeland Security Presidential Directive (HSPD) Number 5 (these are discussed in the next subsection) and a major supporter of HSPD-8. Robert T. Stafford Established the authority for federal assistance to state, Disaster Relief and [territorial,] tribal, and local governments affected by a Emergency major disaster or emergency. This is another authority for Assistance Act HSPD-8 and for other emergency assistance policies and (42 U.S.C. 5122) procedures. USA PATRIOT Act Created the authority to protect and defend critical of 2001 (42 U.S.C. infrastructure and other security authorities and is a basis 5195c(e)) for HSPD-7. PL-104-321, 1996 Law ratified the Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) national interstate mutual-aid agreement that provides supplemental support to that provided by federal agencies (mainly FEMA and FHWA for transportation). All 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands have adopted by law EMAC. EMAC support is also available to local agencies if the state has passed intrastate laws permitting as much. Homeland Security Presidential Directives HSPD-5, Purpose: "To enhance the ability of the United States to Management of manage domestic incidents by establishing a single, Domestic Incidents comprehensive national incident management system." It created the National Incident Management System and the National Response Plan; the latter has been replaced by the National Response Framework. HSPD-7, "This directive establishes a national policy for Federal Infrastructure departments and agencies to identify and prioritize United Identification, States critical infrastructure and key resources and to Prioritization, and protect them from terrorist attacks." This led to the National Protection Infrastructure Protection Plan. HSPD-8, National "This directive establishes policies to strengthen the Preparedness preparedness of the United States to prevent and respond to threatened or actual domestic terrorist attacks, major disasters, and other emergencies by requiring a national domestic all-hazards preparedness goal, establishing mechanisms for improved delivery of Federal preparedness assistance to State and local governments, and outlining actions to strengthen preparedness capabilities of Federal, State, and local entities." This led to creation of a National Preparedness Goal, which was implemented in the form of the National Preparedness Guidelines (NPG) document and several other guidelines. 139