Click for next page ( 34

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 33
TRB OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE FOR THE STRATEGIC HIGHWAY RESEARCH PROGRAM 2* CHAIR: Kirk T. Steudle, Director, Michigan Department of Transportation MEMBERS H. Norman Abramson, Executive Vice President (Retired), Southwest Research Institute Anne P. Canby, President, Surface Transportation Policy Partnership Alan C. Clark, MPO Director, Houston-Galveston Area Council Frank L. Danchetz, Vice President, ARCADIS G&M, Inc. Dan Flowers, Director, Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Stanley Gee, Executive Deputy Commissioner, New York State Department of Transportation Michael P. Lewis, Director, Rhode Island Department of Transportation Susan Martinovich, Director, Nevada Department of Transportation John R. Njord, Executive Director, Utah Department of Transportation Charles F. Potts, Chief Executive Officer, Heritage Construction and Materials Gerald Ross, Chief Engineer, Georgia Department of Transportation George E. Schoener, Executive Director, I-95 Corridor Coalition Kumares C. Sinha, Olson Distinguished Professor of Civil Engineering, Purdue University EX OFFICIO MEMBERS Victor M. Mendez, Administrator, Federal Highway Administration Ron Medford, Acting Administrator, National Highway Transportation Safety Administration John C. Horsley, Executive Director, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials LIAISONS Tony Kane, Director, Engineering and Technical Services, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Jeffrey F. Paniati, Executive Director, Federal Highway Administration John Pearson, Program Director, Council of Deputy Ministers Responsible for Transportation and Highway Safety, Canada Margie Sheriff, Director, SHRP 2 Implementation Team, Office of Corporate Research, Technology, and Innovation Management, Federal Highway Administration Michael F. Trentacoste, Associate Administrator, Research, Development, and Technology, Federal Highway Administration SAFETY TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE* CHAIR: Forrest M. Council, Senior Research Scientist, Highway Safety Research Center, University of North Carolina MEMBERS David L. Banks, Professor, Practice of Statistics, Department of Statistical Science, Duke University James A. Bonneson, Senior Research Engineer, Texas Transportation Institute, Texas A&M University Richard K. Deering, President, RK Deering & Associates, Inc. Leanna Depue, Director, Highway Safety Division, Missouri Department of Transportation Joanne L. Harbluk, Human Factors Specialist, Transport Canada James H. Hedlund, Principal, Highway Safety North Bruce A. Ibarguen, Engineer of Traffic, Maine Department of Transportation Mavis Johnson, President, Canadian Traffic Safety Institute Lawrence H. Orcutt, Chief, Division of Research and Innovation, California Department of Transportation J. Scott Osberg, Principal, Social Science Ink Robert W. Schomber, Regional Manager, Florida Power & Light Company David Shinar, Professor, Department of Industrial Engineering and Management, Ben Gurion University of the Negev Alison Smiley, President, Human Factors North, Inc. Thomas M. Welch, State Transportation Safety Engineer, Office of Traffic and Safety, Iowa Department of Transportation Terecia W. Wilson, Strategic Highway Safety Plan Program Manager, South Carolina Department of Transportation AASHTO LIAISONS Kelly Hardy, Safety Program Manager, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Jim McDonnell, Program Director for Engineering, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials FHWA LIAISONS Monique Evans, Director, Office of Safety Research and Development, Federal Highway Administration Michael Griffith, Director, Office of Safety Integration, Federal Highway Administration Margie Sheriff, Director, SHRP 2 Implementation Team, Office of Corporate Research, Federal Highway Administration AUTO INDUSTRY LIAISONS Michael Cammisa, Director, Safety, Association of International Automobile Manufactures, Inc. Scott Schmidt, Director, Safety and Regulatory Affairs, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers CANADA LIAISON Kent Speiran, Manager, Road Safety, Nova Scotia Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal EUROPEAN SAFETY LIAISON Fred Wegman, Managing Director, SWOV Institute for Road Safety Research, Netherlands FMCSA LIAISON Martin Walker, Chief, Research Division, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration NHTSA LIAISONS Richard Compton, Director, Office of Behavioral Safety Research, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Tim Johnson, Director, Office of Human-Vehicle Performance Research, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration *Membership as of November 2010.