Click for next page ( 80

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 79
TRB OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE FOR THE STRATEGIC HIGHWAY RESEARCH PROGRAM 2* CHAIR: Kirk T. Steudle, Director, Michigan Department of Transportation MEMBERS H. Norman Abramson, Executive Vice President (Retired), Southwest Research Institute Anne P. Canby, President, Surface Transportation Policy Partnership Alan C. Clark, MPO Director, Houston-Galveston Area Council Frank L. Danchetz, Vice President, ARCADIS-US, Inc. Dan Flowers, Director, Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department Stanley Gee, Executive Deputy Commissioner, New York State Department of Transportation Michael P. Lewis, Director, Rhode Island Department of Transportation Susan Martinovich, Director, Nevada Department of Transportation John R. Njord, Executive Director, Utah Department of Transportation Charles F. Potts, Chief Executive Officer, Heritage Construction and Materials Gerald Ross, Chief Engineer, Georgia Department of Transportation George E. Schoener, Executive Director, I-95 Corridor Coalition Kumares C. Sinha, Olson Distinguished Professor of Civil Engineering, Purdue University EX OFFICIO MEMBERS Victor M. Mendez, Administrator, Federal Highway Administration Ron Medford, Acting Administrator, National Highway Transportation Safety Administration John C. Horsley, Executive Director, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials LIAISONS Tony Kane, Director, Engineering and Technical Services, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials Jeffrey F. Paniati, Executive Director, Federal Highway Administration John Pearson, Program Director, Council of Deputy Ministers Responsible for Transportation and Highway Safety, Canada Margie Sheriff, Director, SHRP 2 Implementation Team, Office of Corporate Research, Technology, and Innovation Management, Federal Highway Administration Michael F. Trentacoste, Associate Administrator, Research, Development, and Technology, Federal Highway Administration RELIABILITY TECHNICAL COORDINATING COMMITTEE* CHAIR: R. Scott Rawlins, Deputy Director/Chief Engineer, Nevada Department of Transportation VICE CHAIR: John F. Conrad, Director, Highway/Bridge Market Segment, Transportation Business Group, CH2M HILL MEMBERS Malcolm E. Baird, Consultant Kevin W. Burch, President, Jet Express, Inc. John Corbin, State Traffic Engineer, Wisconsin Department of Transportation Henry de Vries, Captain, New York State Police Leslie S. Fowler, ITS Program Manager, Intelligent Transportation Systems, Bureau of Transportation Safety and Technology, Kansas Department of Transportation Steven Gayle, Consultant, Gayle Consult, LLC Bruce R. Hellinga, Associate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada Lap Thong Hoang, President, Lap Thong Hoang, LLC Patricia S. Hu, Director, Bureau of Transportation Statistics, U.S. Department of Transportation Sarath C. Joshua, ITS and Safety Program Manager, Maricopa Association of Governments Mark F. Muriello, Assistant Director, Tunnels, Bridges and Terminals, The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey Richard J. Nelson, Assistant Director, Operations, Nevada Department of Transportation Richard Phillips, Director, Administrative Services, Washington State Department of Transportation Constance S. Sorrell, Chief of Systems Operations, Virginia Department of Transportation L. Scott Stokes, Deputy Director, Idaho Department of Transportation Jan van der Waard, Program Manager, Mobility and Accessibility, Netherlands Institute for Transport Policy Analysis John P. Wolf, Assistant Division Chief, Traffic Operations, California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) Margot Yapp, Vice President, Nichols Consulting Engineers, Chtd. FHWA LIAISONS Robert Arnold, Director, Transportation Management, Office of Operations, Federal Highway Administration Margie Sheriff, SHRP 2 Implementation Director, Office of Corporate Research, Technology, and Innovation Management, Federal Highway Administration David Yang, Highway Research Engineer, Office of Operations Research and Development, Federal Highway Administration CANADA LIAISON Andrew Beal, Manager, Traffic Office, Highway Standards Branch, Ontario Ministry of Transportation *Membership as of March 2011.