Click for next page ( 18

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 17
APPENDIX E THE BOARD ON LIFE SCIENCES, THE BOARD ON CHEMICAL SCIENCES AND TECHNOLOGY, AND THE NATIONAL ACADEMIES BOARD ON LIFE SCIENCES JO HANDELSMAN (Chair), Yale University, California, New Haven, Connecticut VICKI L. CHANDLER, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Palo Alto, California SEAN EDDY, HHMI Janelia Farm Research Campus, Ashburn, Virginia SARAH C.R. ELGIN, Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri DAVID R. FRANZ, Former Cdr USAMRIID, Frederick, Maryland LOUIS J. GROSS, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee RICHARD A. JOHNSON, Arnold & Porter, LLC, Washington, D.C. JUDITH KIMBLE, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin CATO T. LAURENCIN, University of Connecticut Health Center, Farmington, Connecticut ALAN I. LESHNER, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, D.C. BERNARD LO, University of California, San Francisco, California KAREN E. NELSON, J. Craig Venter Institute, Rockville, Maryland ROBERT M. NEREM, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia CAMILLE PARMESAN, University of Texas, Austin, Texas ALISON G. POWER, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York MARGARET RILEY, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, Massachusetts BRUCE W. STILLMAN, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Cold Spring Harbor, New York JANIS C. WEEKS, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon CYNTHIA WOLBERGER, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland MARY WOOLLEY, Research!America, Alexandria, Virginia NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL STAFF FRANCES E. SHARPLES, Director JO L. HUSBANDS, Scholar/Senior Project Director JAY B. LABOV, Senior Scientist/Program Director for Biology Education KATHERINE W. BOWMAN, Senior Program Officer INDIA HOOK-BARNARD, Senior Program Officer MARILEE K. SHELTON-DAVENPORT, Senior Program Officer KEEGAN SAWYER, Program Officer BETHELHEM M. BANJAW, Financial Associate ORIN E. LUKE, Senior Program Assistant CARL G. ANDERSON, Program Associate SAYYEDA AYESHA AHMED, Senior Program Assistant 17

OCR for page 17
BOARD ON CHEMICAL SCIENCES AND TECHNOLOGY PABLO DEBENEDETTI (Co-chair), Princeton University, New Jersey C. DALE POULTER (Co-chair), University of Utah, Salt Lake City ZHENAN BAO, Stanford University, California ROBERT BERGMAN, University of California, Berkeley HENRY BRYNDZA, E. I. du Pont de Nemours & Company, Wilmington, Delaware EMILY CARTER, Princeton University, New Jersey DAVID CHRISTIANSON, University of Pennsylvania MARY JANE HAGENSON, Chevron Phillips Chemical Company, LLC, The Woodlands, Texas CAROL J. HENRY, The George Washington University, Washington, D.C. JILL HRUBY, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico MICHAEL KERBY, ExxonMobil Chemical Company, Baytown, Texas CHARLES E. KOLB, Aerodyne Research, Inc., Billerica, Massachusetts JOSEF MICHL, University of Colorado, Boulder SANDER MILLS, Merck, Sharp, & Dohme Corporation, Kenilworth, New Jersey DAVID MORSE, Corning International, Corning, New York ROBERT E. ROBERTS, Institute for Defense Analyses, Washington, D.C. DARLENE J. S. SOLOMON, Aligent Laboratories, Santa Clara, California JEAN TOM, Bristol-Myers Squibb, West Windsor, New Jersey DAVID WALT, Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL STAFF DOROTHY ZOLANDZ, Director KATHRYN HUGHES, Senior Program Officer DOUGLAS FRIEDMAN, Program Officer AMANDA CLINE, Administrative Assistant SHEENA SIDDIQUI, Senior Program Associate RACHEL YANCEY, Senior Program Assistant 18

OCR for page 17
The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit, self-perpetuating society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare. Upon the authority of the charter granted to it by the Congress in 1863, the Academy has a mandate that requires it to advise the federal government on scientific and technical matters. Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone is president of the National Academy of Sciences. The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964, under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences, as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers. It is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with the National Academy of Sciences the responsibility for advising the federal government. The National Academy of Engineering also sponsors engineering programs aimed at meeting national needs, encourages education and research, and recognizes the superior achievements of engineers. Dr. Charles M. Vest is president of the National Academy of Engineering. The Institute of Medicine was established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences to secure the services of eminent members of appropriate professions in the examination of policy matters pertaining to the health of the public. The Institute acts under the responsibility given to the National Academy of Sciences by its congressional charter to be an adviser to the federal government and, upon its own initiative, to identify issues of medical care, research, and education. Dr. Harvey V. Fineberg is president of the Institute of Medicine. The National Research Council was organized by the National Academy of Sciences in 1916 to associate the broad community of science and technology with the Academy's purposes of furthering knowledge and advising the federal government. Functioning in accordance with general policies determined by the Academy, the Council has become the principal operating agency of both the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering in providing services to the government, the public, and the scientific and engineering communities. The Council is administered jointly by both Academies and the Institute of Medicine. Dr. Ralph J. Cicerone and Dr. Charles M. Vest are chair and vice chair, respectively, of the National Research Council. 19