from Harvard University and a B.A. in mathematics and philosophy from Yale University. She was a member of the National Science Foundation’s (NSF’s) “Odom committee” in the late-1990s, which performed the last introspective study of the mathematical sciences.

James O. Berger is arts and sciences professor in the Department of Statistical Science at Duke University. He received a Ph.D. in mathematics from Cornell University in 1974. Dr. Berger was a faculty member in the Department of Statistics at Purdue University until 1997, at which time he moved to Duke. From 2002 until 2009 he directed the NSF-supported Statistical and Applied Mathematical Sciences Institute (SAMSI). Dr. Berger was president of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics in 1995 and 1996, chair of the Section on Bayesian Statistical Science of the American Statistical Association in 1995, and president of the International Society for Bayesian Analysis during 2004. Among his awards and honors are Guggenheim and Sloan Fellowships, the President’s Award from the Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies in 1985, the Sigma Xi Research Award at Purdue University for contribution of the year to science in 1993, the Fisher Lectureship in 2001, election as foreign member of the Spanish Real Academia de Ciencias in 2002, election to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in 2003, an honorary D.Sc. from Purdue University in 2004, and the Wald Lectureship in 2007. Professor Berger currently chairs the NSF’s Advisory Committee for Mathematics and Physical Sciences. His research has primarily been in Bayesian statistics, foundations of statistics, statistical decision theory, simulation, model selection, and various interdisciplinary areas of science and industry, especially astronomy and the interface between computer modeling and statistics. He has supervised 31 Ph.D. dissertations, published over 160 articles, and written or edited 14 books or special volumes.

Luis A. Caffarelli is a professor of mathematics at the Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences and holds the Sid W. Richardson Foundation Regents Chair in Mathematics at the University of Texas at Austin. He obtained and M.Sc. (1969) and a Ph.D. (1972) at the University of Buenos Aires. He also has been a professor at the University of Minnesota, the University of Chicago, and the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences at New York University (NYU). From 1986 to 1996 he was a professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. In 1991, he was elected to the NAS. He received the Bôcher Prize in 1984. In 2005, he received the prestigious Rolf Schock Prize in Mathematics of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. He recently received the Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement in Mathematics. Professor Caffarelli is a member of the American Mathematical Society, the Union Matematica Argentina, the

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement