Click for next page (

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 321
Appendix C: Commission on Physical Sciences, Mathematics, and Resources . NORMAN HACKERMAN (Chairman), Robert A. Welch Foundation, Houston ROBERT C. BEARDSLEY, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, Woods Hole B. CLARK BURCHFIEL, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge GEORGE F. CARRIER, Harvard University, Cambridge RALPH J. CICERONE, National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder HERBERT D. DOAN, The Dow Chemical Co. (retired), Midland, Michigan PETER S. EAGLESON, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge DEAN E. EASTMAN, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, New York MARYE ANNE FOX, University of Texas, Austin GERHART FRIEDLANDER, Brookhaven National Laboratory Associated Uni versities, Inc., Long Island LAWRENCE W. FUNKHOUSER, Chevron Corp. (retired), Menlo Park, CA PHILLIP A. GRIFFrIHS, Duke University, Durham NEAL F. I^NE, Rice University, Houston CHRISTOPHER F. MCKEE, University of California at Berkeley RICHARD S. NICHOLSON, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Washington, D.C. JACK E. OLIVER, Cornell University, Ithaca JEREMIAH P. OSTRIKER, Princeton University Observatory, Princeton PHILIP A. PALMER, E.I. du Pont `de Nemours & Co., Newark, DE FRANK L. PARKER, Vanderbilt University, Nashville DENIS J. PRAGER, MacArthur Foundation, Chicago DAVID M. RAUP, University of Chicago ROY F. SCHWIllERS, Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory, Dallas LARRY L. STARR, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign KARL K TUREKIAN, Yale University, New Haven Staff MYRON F. UMAN, Acting Executive Director 321