1. Computer Peripherals, Components, and Related Test Equipment (CPTAC)

  2. Computer Systems (CSTAC)

  3. Electronic Instrumentation (EITAC)

  4. Materials (MATTAC)

  5. Biotechnology (BIOTAC)

  6. Semiconductor (SEMITAC)

  7. Telecommunications Equipment (TETAC)

  8. Transportation and Related Equipment (T&RETAC)

  9. Militarily Critical Technologies List Implementation (MITAC)

Each TAC consists of representatives of U.S. industry and government, including representatives from the Departments of Commerce, Defense, and State, the intelligence community, and, at the discretion of the secretary of commerce, other departments and agencies of the U.S. government. A large majority (about 90 percent) of the representatives on each TAC are from industry. No industry representative, however, may serve on a TAC for more than four consecutive years. Thus, in order to obtain broader participation, the benefit of experience and expertise is sacrificed.

TAC Responsibilities and Authority

As outlined in Section 5(h) of the EAA, the tasks of the TACs are as follows:

  1. To provide advice and information with respect to questions involving technical matters related to the particular TAC's area of expertise.

  2. To provide information on worldwide availability and utilization of production technology.

  3. To advise with respect to licensing procedures that affect the level of export controls applicable to any goods or technology.

  4. To assist in the periodic review of the Commodity Control List.

  5. To play a role in the revision of qualification requirements for minimum thresholds for any goods eligible for export under a distribution license.

  6. To review draft regulations prior to their issuance.

  7. To assist in the review of export control regulations and the Commodity Control List in order to determine how compliance with their provisions can be facilitated by simplifying the regulations or the list.

  8. To advise the President with respect to the likely effect of the imposition of export controls for foreign policy purposes.

The TACs are also involved in the review of applications for U.S. export licenses and applications for approval by the Coordinating Committee for Multilateral Export Controls (CoCom) of exports from other CoCom countries. Each of the 10 TACs focuses on products and technology falling within

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement