Click for next page ( 258

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 257
ADVISORY COMMITTEE FOR SYMPOSIUM ON WORLD TECHNOLOGIES AND NATIONAL SOVEREIGNTY Chairman HARVEY BROOKS, Benjamin Peirce Professor of Technology and Public Policy, Emeritus, Harvard University Members ANN F. FRIEDLAENDER, Dean, School of Humanities and Social Science, Massachusetts Institute of Technology FREDERICK W. GARRY, Vice President, Corporate Engineering and Manufactunng, General Electric Company HENRY KRESSEL, Managing Director, Warburg, Pinclls and Company JACK D. KUEH! ER, Senior Vice President, IBM Corporation JAMES BEAN QUINN, William and Josephine Buchanan Professor of Management, Amos Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College RAYMOND VERNON, Clarence Dillon Professor of International Affairs Emeritus, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University 2;7

OCR for page 257