Click for next page ( 4

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 3
This project is a collaboration between the National Academy of Engineering (NAE; and Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. (AMD) in support of the AMD NextGen Engineer initiative ( The National Academy of Engineering was established in 1964 under the charter of the National Academy of Sciences as a parallel organization of outstanding engineers. It is autonomous in its administration and in the selection of its members, sharing with NAS the responsibility for advising the federal government. The mission of NAE is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology. AMD (NYSE: AMD) is a semiconductor design innovator leading the next era of vivid digital experiences with its groundbreaking AMD Fusion Accelerated Processing Units (APUs) that power a wide range of computing devices. AMD's server computing products are focused on driving industry-leading cloud computing and virtualization environ- ments. AMD's superior graphics technologies are found in a variety of solutions ranging from game consoles, PCs to supercomputers. For more information, visit The introductory overview of this publication has been reviewed in draft form by individuals chosen for their diverse perspectives and technical expertise, in accordance with procedures approved by the National Academies. The purpose of the independent review is to provide candid and critical comments to assist the NAE in making its published report as sound as possible and to ensure that the manuscript meets institutional standards for objectivity, evidence, and responsiveness to the project's charge. The review comments and draft manuscript remain confidential to protect the integrity of the deliberative process. We thank the following individuals for their review of the manuscript: Michael Corradini, Professor, Department of Engineering Physics, University of Wisconsin Madison Lueny Morell, Director of University Relations for Latin America, Hewlett-Packard Company Although the reviewers listed above have provided many constructive comments and suggestions, they were not asked to endorse the views expressed in the introductory overview, nor did they see the final draft of the overview before its release. The review of this publication was overseen by Lance A. Davis, NAE Executive Officer. He was responsible for making certain that an independent examination of this manuscript was carried out in accordance with institutional procedures and that all review comments were carefully considered. Responsibility for the final content of this publication rests entirely with the authors and NAE. Real World Engineering Education Committee GLEN T. DAIGGER (Chair), CH2M Hill, Inc., Englewood, CO LETHA A. HAMMON, DuPont, Wilmington, DE RAY M. HAYNES, DaVinci Charter High School, Carlsbad, CA LEAH H. JAMIESON, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN DAVID N. WORMLEY, The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA Project Staff ELIZABETH T. CADY, Program Officer, National Academy of Engineering PROCTOR REID, Director, Program Office, National Academy of Engineering JASON WILLIAMS, Senior Financial Assistant, National Academy of Engineering