Many individuals were responsible for organizing the workshop and producing this summary. The planning committee would like to thank Institute of Medicine staff members Monica Feit, Jon Sanders, Andrea Cohen, Rick Erdtmann, Hannan Braun, and Colin Fink. Joe Alper, the lead rapporteur, deserves special acknowledgment for writing the first draft of this summary. We also thank the speakers and participants of the workshop who lent their insights to the topic and contributed to the discussions throughout the day. Finally, we thank the sponsors of the workshop: The California Endowment, the California HealthCare Foundation, based in Oakland, California, and the National Institutes of Health. The workshop would not have been possible without their generous support.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement