of Medium- and Heavy-Duty Vehicles, the NRC Committee on Review of the FreedomCAR and Fuel Research Program, and the Committee to Review the 21st Century Truck Partnership. He has been awarded an Academic Contribution Award from the Japan Society of Automotive Engineers (JSAE) and a Honda Gold Medal from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers for outstanding contributions in the field of personal transportation, and he is a fellow of the Society of Automotive Engineers.

Gerald Gabrielse (NAS) is Leverett Professor of Physics at Harvard University. His previous positions include assistant and associate professor at the University of Washington-Seattle and chair of the Harvard Physics Department. His physics research focuses on making the most accurate measurements of the electron magnetic moment and the fine structure constant, and on precise laser spectroscopy of helium. Professor Gabrielse also leads the International ATRAP Collaboration, whose goal is accurate laser spectroscopy with trapped antihydrogen atoms. His many awards and prizes include fellow of the American Physical Society, Davisson-Germer Prize of the American Physical Society, the Humboldt Research Award (Germany, 2005), and the Tomassoni Award (Italy, 2008). Harvard University awarded Professor Gabrielse both its George Ledlie Research Prize and its Levenson Teaching Prize. Hundreds of outside lectures include a Källén Lecture (Sweden), a Poincaré Lecture (France), a Faraday Lecture (Cambridge, U.K.), a Schrodinger lecture (Austria), a Zachariasen Lecture (University of Chicago), and a Rosenthal Lecture (Yale University). He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. He has a B.S. from Calvin College and an M.S. and a Ph.D. in from the University of Chicago.

Linos Jacovides (NAE) retired as the director of Delphi Research Labs, a position that he held from 1998 to 2007. Dr. Jacovides joined General Motors Research and Development in 1967 and became department head of electrical engineering in 1985. His areas of research were the interactions between power electronics and electrical machines in electric vehicles and locomotives. He later transitioned to Delphi with a group of researchers from GM to set up the Delphi Research Laboratories. He is a fellow of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Society of Automotive Engineers; he was president of the Industry Applications Society of IEEE in 1990. He received a B.S. degree in electrical engineering and an M.S in machine theory from the University of Glasgow, Scotland, in 1961 and 1962, respectively. He received his Ph.D. in generator control systems from the Imperial College, University of London, in 1965.

Harold H. Kung is professor of chemical engineering and director of the for Energy Efficient Transportation at Northwestern University. His areas of research include surface chemistry, catalysis, electrical energy storage, and chemical reaction engineering. His professional experience includes work as a research

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement