chemist at E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Co., Inc. He is a recipient of the P.H. Emmett Award and the Robert Burwell Lectureship Award from the North American Catalysis Society, the Herman Pines Award of the Chicago Catalysis Club, the G.A. Somorjai Award of the American Chemical Society, and the E. Thisele Award of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Chicago Section. He is an editor of Applied Catalysis A: General. He has a Ph.D. in chemistry from Northwestern University.

Gene Nemanich is the retired vice president of Hydrogen Systems for Technology Ventures where he was responsible for hydrogen supply and developing and commercializing new hydrogen technologies. He has 32 years of experience with integrated oil companies, including Exxon, Cities Service, Texaco, and Chevron. He has also worked in the areas of refining, clean coal technology, oil supply and trading, and research leading to the development of new hydrogen systems. He represented Texaco in the California Fuel Cell Partnership in 2000-2001 and was a director of Texaco Ovonic Hydrogen Systems LLC, a joint venture with Energy Conversion Devices to commercialize metal hydride hydrogen storage systems. He was one of seven industry leaders who helped prepare the Department of Energy-sponsored Hydrogen Roadmap, and he has served as chair of the National Hydrogen Association. He has served on several National Research Council committees, including those on the Assessment of Resource Needs for Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Technologies, Transitions to Alternative Transportation Technologies—A Focus on Hydrogen and Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles, and the FreedomCAR and Fuel Partnership Phase 3 Review. He has a B.S. in chemical engineering from the University of Illinois and an M.B.A. from the University of Houston.

Robert J. Nowak is a consultant in the areas of advanced energy storage and conversion. He has directed and supported research in fuel cells, batteries, capacitors, energy harvesting, fuel processing, thermal energy conversion, micro-engines, hydrogen storage, biofuel cells, sonoluminescence, and biomolecular motors. He has served on several National Research Council (NRC) committees. He received his B.A. and M.S. degrees in chemistry from Oakland University and his Ph.D. degree in chemistry from the University of Cincinnati. He was selected as NRC Postdoctoral Fellow at the Naval Research Laboratory in 1979 and worked there as a staff member until 1986. He was a program manager at the Office of Naval Research (1986-1996) and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (1996-2002).

Bernard Robertson (NAE) is president of BIR1, LLC, an engineering consultancy specializing in transportation and energy matters that he founded in January 2004, upon his retirement from DaimlerChrysler Corporation. During the latter part of his 38-year career in the automotive industry, Mr. Robertson was elected

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement