technologies, and energy and environmental analysis. He has a B.S., an M.S., and a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Carnegie Mellon University.

Kathleen C. Taylor (NAE) is retired director of the Materials and Processes Laboratory at General Motors Research and Development and Planning Center, located in Warren, Michigan. Dr. Taylor was simultaneously chief scientist for General Motors of Canada, Ltd., in Oshawa, Ontario. Earlier she was department head for physics and physical chemistry and department head for environmental sciences. Currently, Dr. Taylor serves on the Department of Energy Hydrogen Technology Advisory Committee and on the board of the National Inventors Hall of Fame. She was awarded the Garvan Medal from the American Chemical Society. She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the Indian National Academy of Engineering, and she is a fellow of SAE International and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. She was president of the Materials Research Society and chair of the board of directors of the Gordon Research Conferences. She has expertise in research and development management, fuel cells, batteries, catalysis, exhaust emission control, and automotive materials. She received an A.B. in chemistry from Douglass College and a Ph.D. in physical chemistry from Northwestern University.

Brijesh Vyas is a distinguished member of the technical staff at LGS Innovations, LLC. Previously he was a member of the Nanotechnology and Integrated Photonic Research Departments at Bell Labs, Murray Hill, New Jersey, where he was responsible for advanced materials and processes for microelectromechanical and photonic devices. He was also technical manager of the energy conversion technology group, responsible for research on advanced materials and technologies for energy storage systems. He has led efforts to develop various rechargeable batteries and related energy conversion technologies for a variety of telecommunications applications. He was formerly at the Brookhaven National Laboratory and has been a guest professor at the Technical University of Denmark in Copenhagen, investigating corrosion and erosion of metals. He received the Sam Tour Award from the American Society of Materials and Testing. His areas of expertise include materials science, electrochemistry, and corrosion. He served on the NRC Committee to Review the U.S. Advanced Battery Consortium’s Electric Vehicle Battery R&D Project Selection Process. He received a bachelor’s degree in metallurgical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology in Bombay and a Ph.D. in materials science from the State University of New York, Stony Brook.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement