won Pulitzer prizes for the Los Angeles Times in 1992 for coverage of the Los Angeles Riots and in 1994 for coverage of the Northridge Earthquake.

ROBERT F. SAWYER (NAE) is the Class of 1935 Professor of Energy emeritus in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley. His research interests are in combustion, pollutant formation and control, regulatory policy, rocket propulsion, and fire safety. He served as chairman of the California Air Resources Board, chairman of the energy and resources group of the University of California at Berkeley, chief of the liquid systems analysis section at the U.S. Air Force Rocket Propulsion Laboratory, and president of the Combustion Institute. Dr. Sawyer has served on numerous National Research Council committees and was a member of the NRC’s Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology. He holds a B.S. and M.S. in mechanical engineering from Stanford University and a M.A. in aeronautical engineering and a Ph.D. in aerospace science from Princeton University.

CHRISTINE S. SLOANE retired from General Motors Corporation as the head of the global team for hydrogen and fuel cell vehicle codes and standards development. She coordinated development of GM policy and technical strategy across safety, engineering, and public policy requirements to ensure global consistency in GM interaction with government and professional industry organizations. She previously directed the GM interaction with the U.S. FreedomCAR program, which included R&D to advance fuel cell power systems, and earlier served as chief technologist for the development and demonstration team for Precept, GM’s 80 mile-per-gallon five-passenger HEV concept vehicle. She has also been responsible for global climate issues and for mobile emission issues involving advanced technology vehicles. Her early research interests included air quality, and manufacturing and vehicle emissions. Dr. Sloane has authored more than 80 technical papers and co-edited one book. She has served on several boards of professional organizations and numerous National Academy of Sciences panels and study groups. Dr. Sloane received her Ph.D. from MIT in chemical physics.

WILLIAM H. WALSH, JR., is an automobile safety consultant. He consults on vehicle safety activities with several technology companies to speed the introduction of advanced life-saving technology into the automobile fleet as well as substantive involvement in corporate average fuel economy (CAFE) rulemakings. He held several positions at the U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), including senior associate administrator for policy and operations; associate administrator for plans and policy; director, National Center for Statistics and Analysis; director, Office of Budget, Planning and Policy; and science advisor to the administrator of NHTSA. He also held the position of supervisory general engineer at the DOE’s Appliance Efficiency Program. His expertise covers all aspects of vehicle safety performance, cost/benefit analyses, strategic planning, statistics analyses and modeling, and policy formulation. He serves on the Transportation Research Board’s Occupant Protection Committee. He has a B.S. in aerospace engineering, University of Notre Dame, and an M.S. in system engineering, George Washington University.

MICHAEL EVAN WEBBER is the Josey Centennial Fellow in Energy Resources, associate professor of mechanical engineering, associate director for the Center for International Energy and Environmental Policy, and co-director of the Clean Energy Incubator, all at the University of Texas at Austin. Previously he was an associate engineer at RAND Corporation and senior scientist at Pranalytica, Inc. He holds four patents involving instrumentation. He serves on the board of advisers of Scientific American and is on the editorial board of several other journals. Dr. Webber is also a member of the Electric Utility Commission of the City of Austin and is active in a variety of other public and civic organizations. He has an M.S. and Ph.D. in mechanical engineering (minor, electrical engineering) from Stanford University and B.S./B.A. degrees with high honors from the University of Texas at Austin.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement