STEPHEN FORREST (NAE) is the vice president for research at the University of Michigan as well as the William Gould Dow Collegiate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and professor in the Materials Science and Engineering Department and the Physics Department. In 1985, Dr. Forrest joined the Electrical Engineering and Materials Science Departments at USC where he worked on optoelectronic integrated circuits and organic semiconductors. In 1992, he became the James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Electrical Engineering at Princeton University. He served as director of the National Center for Integrated Photonic Technology and as Director of Princeton’s Center for Photonics and Optoelectronic Materials. From 1997 to 2001, he served as the chair of the Princeton’s Electrical Engineering Department. In 2006, he rejoined the University of Michigan as vice president for research. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), IEEE, and the Optical Society of America and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He received the IEEE/Lasers Electro-Optics Society (LEOS) Distinguished Lecturer Award in 1996-1997, and in 1998 he was co-recipient of the IPO National Distinguished Inventor Award as well as the Thomas Alva Edison Award for innovations in organic LEDs. In 1999, Dr. Forrest received the MRS Medal for work on organic thin films. In 2001, he was awarded the IEEE/LEOS William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award for advances made on photodetectors for optical communications systems. In 2006 he received the Jan Rajchman Prize from the Society for Information Display for invention of phosphorescent organic light emitting diodes (OLEDs) and is the recipient of the 2007 IEEE Daniel Nobel Award for innovations in OLEDs. Dr. Forrest has authored approximately 465 papers in refereed journals and has 203 patents. He is co-founder or founding participant in several companies, including Sensors Unlimited, Epitaxx, Inc., Global Photonic Energy Corp., Universal Display Corp., and ASIP, Inc., and is on the board of directors of Applied Materials and PD-LD, Inc. Dr. Forrest received his B.A. in physics from the University of California, Berkeley, and his M.S. and Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.

PEKKA HAKKARAINEN is corporate vice president at Lutron Electronics. Dr. Hakkarainen has developed an expertise in the performance of fluorescent and halogen lamps in dimming conditions as well as co-developed an integrated daylighting system involving electric lights and window shades. He is a member of IESNA and currently chairs the lighting Systems Division of the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA). He has chaired several IESNA and NEMA committees and served on numerous other industry committees and advisory groups. Dr. Hakkarainen received his B.A. and M.A. in mathematics from Cambridge University, England, and a Ph.D. in plasma physics from MIT.

EVELYN L. HU (NAS/NAE) is the Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering in the Harvard University School of Engineering and Applied Sciences. Prior to her appointment at Harvard, Dr. Hu was the scientific co-director of the California Nanosystems Institute, a University of California, Los Angeles-UCSB collaborative California Institute for Science and Innovation. Her research focuses on high-resolution fabrication of compound semiconductor electronic and optoelectronic devices, candidate structures for the realization of quantum computation schemes, and novel device structures formed through the heterogeneous integration of materials. Recently her work has involved the interaction of quantum dots in high Q microdisk and photonic crystal cavities. Dr. Hu is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Academica Sinica. She is a recipient of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Lifetime Mentor Award and was named an NSF Distinguished Teaching Scholar. She was named the 2005 UCSB Faculty Research Lecturer. She is a fellow of the IEEE, APS, and the AAAS, and holds an honorary doctorate of engineering from the University of Glasgow. From 1975 to 1981, Dr. Hu was a member of technical staff at Bell Laboratories at Holmdel, New Jersey. From 1981 to 1984 she served as a supervisor for VLSI patterning processes at Bell Laboratories at Murray Hill, New Jersey. In 1984 she joined UCSB as a professor of electrical and computer engineering. She received her B.A. in physics (summa cum laude) from Barnard College and her M.A. and Ph.D. in physics from Columbia University.

GARY MARCHANT is a professor of law and executive director and faculty fellow of the Center for Law, Science, and Innovation in the College of Law at Arizona State University (ASU). He is also a senior sustainability scientist at ASU’s Global Institute of Sustainability. Dr. Marchant teaches environmental law, science and technology, genetics and the law, and environmental justice. Prior to joining ASU, he was a partner at the Washington, D.C., office of the law firm of Kirkland and Ellis, where his practice focused on environmental and administrative law. He received his B.Sc. and Ph.D. in genetics from the University of British Columbia, his M.P.P. from the Kennedy School of Government of Harvard University, and his J.D. from Harvard Law School.

NADARAJAH NARENDRAN is director of research at the Lighting Research Center (LRC) and professor in the School of Architecture at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. He spearheads LRC’s SSL program with concentrated research efforts in the areas of LED lighting performance, packaging, and application. He is a fellow member of IESNA and organizes the Alliance for Solid-State Illumination Systems and Technologies. He has been awarded the Taylor Technical Talent Award for Best Technical Paper from the IESNA and

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement