available of uniform quality; and the role of the agency (for example, providing information to the public, working with respondents to improve reporting). Should an agency decide that the nature of a program is such that no amount of description or explanation is likely to make it possible for the agency to maintain its credibility as a statistical agency, it should decline to carry out the activity.

The work of federal statistical agencies is coordinated through the U.S. Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Statistical and Science Policy Office (SSP) and the Interagency Council on Statistical Policy (ICSP), which was created by OMB in the 1980s and authorized in statute in the 1995 reauthorization of the Paperwork Reduction Act (44 USC 3504(e)(8)). The ICSP is chaired by the chief statistician in OMB and currently includes representation from 14 agencies and units, which are housed in 9 cabinet departments and 3 independent agencies (see Appendix B):

• Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce)

• Bureau of Justice Statistics (U.S. Department of Justice)

• Bureau of Labor Statistics (U.S. Department of Labor)

• Bureau of Transportation Statistics (U.S. Department of Transportation)

• Census Bureau (U.S. Department of Commerce)

• Economic Research Service (U.S. Department of Agriculture)

• Energy Information Administration (U.S. Department of Energy)

• National Agricultural Statistics Service (U.S. Department of Agriculture)

• National Center for Education Statistics (U.S. Department of Education)

• National Center for Health Statistics (U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)

• National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (U.S. National Science Foundation [NSF])

• Office of Environmental Information (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)

• Office of Research, Evaluation, and Statistics (Social Security Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)

• Statistics of Income Division (U.S. Department of the Treasury)

In addition to these 14 agencies, OMB currently recognizes 110 other units and agencies that are not statistical agencies but that have annual

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement