Atalay Alem

Professor of Psychiatry

Addis Ababa University

Lukoye Atwoli

Psychiatrist and Lecturer,

Department of Mental Health

Moi University School of Medicine

Arvin Bhana

Executive Director, Human Science Research Council

Associate Professor of Psychology, University of KwaZulu-Natal

Jonathan Burns

Professor and Head of the Department of Psychiatry

University of KwaZulu-Natal

Dixon Chibanda



Dan Chisholm

Health Economist, Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse

World Health Organization

Pamela Y. Collins

Director, Office for Research on Disparities and Global Mental Health

National Institute of Mental Health

Jeanne d’Arc Dusabeyezu

Mental Health Specialist

Rwanda Ministry of Health

Lara Fairall

Head, Knowledge Translation Unit

University of Cape Town Lung Institute

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 107
G Attendees Atalay Alem Dan Chisholm Professor of Psychiatry Health Economist, Department Addis Ababa University of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Lukoye Atwoli World Health Organization Psychiatrist and Lecturer, Department of Mental Health Pamela Y. Collins Moi University School of Director, Office for Research on Medicine Disparities and Global Mental Health Arvin Bhana National Institute of Mental Executive Director, Human Health Science Research Council Associate Professor of Jeanne d’Arc Dusabeyezu Psychology, University of Mental Health Specialist KwaZulu-Natal Rwanda Ministry of Health Jonathan Burns Lara Fairall Professor and Head of the Head, Knowledge Translation Department of Psychiatry Unit University of KwaZulu-Natal University of Cape Town Lung Institute Dixon Chibanda Psychiatrist Zimbabwe 107

OCR for page 107
108 CANDIDATE CORE COMPETENCIES FOR MNS DISORDERS IN SSA Charlotte Hanlon Henry Kusu Kyule Psychiatrist and Epidemiologist Registered Nurse Addis Ababa University Community Health Program, King’s College London Kenya Sylvia Kaaya Olympia Laswai Head of the Department of Assistant Lecturer Psychiatry and Mental St. John’s University of Health Tanzania Muhimbili University College of Health and Allied Agnes Farkas Leshner Sciences Director Montgomery County Fred Kigozi (Maryland) Child Executive Director and Senior Welfare Services Consultant Psychiatrist Butabika National Referral and Alan Leshner Teaching Mental Hospital Chief Executive Officer American Association for the Gerald Kihwele Advancement of Science Nursing Officer Mirembe National Mental Elliot Makhathini Hospital University of KwaZulu-Natal Mhando Kileo Muthoni Mathai Patron (Chief Nurse) Consultant Psychiatrist, Mirembe Mental Hospital Lecturer University of Nairobi Edward K. Kirumira Deputy Principal of the College Lydia Kemunto Matoke of Humanities and Social Chairperson Sciences National Traditional Health Makerere University Practitioners Association and the Herbalists Society Walter J. Koroshetz of Kenya Deputy Director National Institute of Neuro- logical Disorders and Stroke

OCR for page 107
APPENDIX G 109 Aisia Sombiro Matowo- Dr. Sheila Ndyananbangi Mrema National Coordinator, Mental Principal Health Social Worker Health Services Muhimbili National Hospital Ministry of Health, Republic of Uganda Ana-Claire Meyer Assistant Professor, Department Alfred Ngirababyeyi of Neurology Supervisor, Mental Health University of California, San Services Francisco, Kenya Medical Ndera Neuropsychiatric Research Institute Hospital Mashadi Motlana Adesola Ogunniyi Clinical Manager, Senior Professor of Medicine Lecturer University of Ibadan Tara Hospital University of the Witwatersrand Samson John Oteyo Department of Psychology May Charles Mushatsi Kenyatta University Assessment Nurse Muhimbili National Hospital Vikram Patel Professor of International Seggane Musisi Mental Health Professor of Psychiatry London School of Hygiene & Makerere University Tropical Medicine Etheldreda Nakimuli-Mpungu Inge Petersen Butabika National Referral Department of Psychology Mental Hospital University of KwaZulu-Natal Juliet Nakku Lusanda Rataemane, Ministry of Health, Republic of Clinical Psychologist Uganda University of Free State David M. Ndetei Solomon Rataemane Director Head, Department of Psychiatry Africa Mental Health University of Limpopo Foundation

OCR for page 107
110 CANDIDATE CORE COMPETENCIES FOR MNS DISORDERS IN SSA Jane Roimen Sebolelo Tseeke Kenya Association for the Senior Social Worker Welfare of People with Sanca Eastern Gauteng Epilepsy Benoite Umubyeyi Ruben Sahabo Mental Health Nurse Country Director, Rwanda Kigali Health Institute International Center for AIDS Care and Treatment Abebaw Fekadu Wassie Programs Lecturer Addis Ababa University M. Boy Sebit Associate Professor of Tedla Wolde-Giorgis Psychiatry Clinical Psychologist Muhimbili University of Health Federal Ministry of Health, and Allied Sciences Ethiopia Temitayo Shokunbi Mulugeta Wondimu Consultant Neurological Head Nurse Surgeon Professor of St. Paul’s Millennium Medical Anatomy College University of Ibadan Anthony Mulenga Zimba Omar Siddiqi Epilepsy Specialist Honorary Lecturer University of Levy Mwanawansa Memorial Zambia Hospital Chainama National Psychiatric Hospital Joshua Ssebunya Project Coordinator, Programme for Improving Mental Health Care (PRIME) Research Program Consortium (RPC) Makerere University and Butabika National Hospital