T. Mark Harrison (NAS) is distinguished professor of geochemistry in, and former chair of, the Department of Earth and Space Sciences at University of California, Los Angeles. His research areas include lithosphere tectonothermics, experimental and theoretical studies of magma transport, application of heat flow and diffusion theory to geological problems, development isotopic microanalysis, and planetary formation. He is a fellow of the Australian Academy of Sciences, American Geophysical Union, Geological Society of America, Geological Society of Australia, and the Geochemical Society. He has received the Presidential Young Investigator Award and the Day Medal of the Geological Society of America. He is a lifelong pilot and holds a commercial certificate with instrument and multi-engine ratings. He has a B.Sc. (Honors) from the University of British Columbia and a Ph.D. in earth sciences from the Australian National University.

Christopher Hart is vice chairman of the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB). Previously he was a member of the NTSB, deputy director for Air Traffic Safety Oversight at the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), and FAA assistant administrator for the Office of Safety, System Safety. He is a licensed pilot with commercial, multi-engine, and instrument ratings, as well as an attorney. He is a member of the District of Columbia Bar and the Lawyer-Pilots Bar Association. He has a B.S. and an M.S. in aerospace engineering from Princeton University and a J.D. from Harvard Law School.

Paul F. Hogan is senior vice president and practice director of Federal National Security and Emergency Preparedness at The Lewin Group. He applies microeconomics, econometrics, cost-benefit analyses, statistics, and operations research methods to problems of health economics, labor supply, compensation, training, performance, military staffing and readiness, and cost measurement. His research in health economics include workforce studies and measures of Medicare and Medicaid payment accuracy. He has a B.A. in economics from the University of Virginia and an M.S. in applied economics and finance from the University of Rochester.

Brian Norman is chief executive officer and founder of Compass Manpower Experts, LLC, and served recently as senior human resource advisor for the Changes for Justice Project, a U.S. Agency for International Development effort with the Attorney General’s Office of the Republic of Indonesia. Previously, he served as commander of the Air Force Manpower Agency, directing efforts to determine manpower requirements, develop programming factors, manage Air Force performance management programs, execute competitive sourcing initiatives, and conduct special studies and analyses. Prior to that, he served as deputy director of plans and integration, deputy chief of staff for manpower and personnel, at Air Force Headquarters, where he guided strategic planning, visioning, and concepts of operation activities for Air Force manpower, personnel, and services. From 1995 through 2012, he served as a course director and adjunct professor at Ira P. Eaker College for Professional Development, Air University, Maxwell Air Force Base. He has a B.S. in industrial engineering from the University of Missouri, an M.S. in systems management from the University of Southern California, and an M.S. in strategic studies from Air University.

Tonya L. Smith-Jackson is professor and chair of industrial and systems engineering at North Carolina A&T State University. She is founder and director of the Assessment and Cognitive Ergonomics Lab and co-director of the Safety Engineering and Human-Computer Interaction Labs. She is a member of the American Society of Safety Engineers, the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society, the Institute of Industrial Engineers, the Association for Psychological Science, and the Society of Women Engineers. She is certified by the Board of Certification in Professional Ergonomics. Her work has focused on

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement