Wendy Marie Thomas, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Jeff Tollefson, Nature Magazine

Thomas Torgersen, National Science Foundation

Christopher Tulcea, CT Associates

Shana Udvardy, Udvardy Consulting

Michael Useem, University of Pennsylvania

Katie Volsch, Federal Housing Finance Agency

Matthew Von Hendy, Green Heron Information Services

Roger Wakimoto, The National Center for Atmospheric Research

Maggie Walser, National Research Council

Tom Watson, U.S. Department of Homeland Security

John Wertman, Association of American Geographers

Gene Whitney*, Independent Consultant

Len Willitts, Department of State

Foreign Consequence Management Program

Katya Wowk, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Whitney Wyckoff, E & E Publishing / Greenwire

Jacqueline Yamasi, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Wen-huei (Phil) Yen, Federal Highway Administration

Warren Youngblood, Federal Emergency Management Agency

Dorothy Zolandz, National Research Council


* Denotes study committee member

An additional 440 people registered from across the nation and around the world to view the morning event via live webcast. In order to try to draw in as many diverse perspectives as possible to this event within available resources, announcements about the event with registration information were sent to more than 1,000 individuals nationally and internationally with the encouragement to share the meeting information with their networks and on their blogs.


Joseph “Bud” Ahearn, CH2M Hill Ltd. and U.S. Air Force (Retired)

Ray Alexander, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

David Applegate, U.S. Geological Survey

James Bohland, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

Nicole Boothman-Shepard, Jacobs Engineering

Peter Boynton, Northeastern University

Stephanie Bray, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Andrew Bruzewicz, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Arrietta Chakos, Urban Resilience Strategies

David Cleaves, USDA Forest Service

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement