Dr. Cohen has served on numerous study groups examining Asia sponsored by the Asia Society, the Council on Foreign Relations, the Asia Foundation, and the National Bureau of Asian Research; he is currently a member of the National Academy of Sciences Committee on International Security and Arms Control and a trustee of the Public Education Center. Dr. Cohen was the co-founder and chair of the workshop on Security, Technology and Arms Control for younger South Asian and Chinese strategists, held for the past ten years in Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and China, and was a founding member of the Research Committee of the South Asian strategic organization, the Regional Centre for Security Studies, Colombo. Dr. Cohen has written, co-authored, or edited ten books. Professor Cohen received B.A. and M.A. degrees in Political Science from the University of Chicago, and a Ph.D. in Political Science from the University of Wisconsin, He has conducted research in China, Britain, India, Pakistan, the former Soviet Union, and Japan. He received grants from several major foundations and serves as a consultant to numerous government agencies.

Cherry Murray—Harvard University

Cherry A. Murray is Dean of Harvard University’s School of Engineering and Applied Sciences; John A. and Elizabeth S. Armstrong Professor of Engineering and Applied Sciences; and Professor of Physics. Previously, Murray served as principal associate director for science and technology at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and was president of the American Physical Society. Before joining Lawrence Livermore in 2004, Murray was Senior Vice President of Physical Sciences and Wireless Research and had a long and distinguished career at Bell Laboratories Research. Murray was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1999, to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2001, and to the National Academy of Engineering in 2002. She has served on more than 80 national and international scientific advisory committees, governing boards and National Research Council panels and as a member of the National Commission on the British Petroleum Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill and Offshore Drilling. She is currently chair of the National Research Council Division of Engineering and Physical Science. As an experimentalist, Murray is known for her scientific accomplishments in condensed matter and surface physics. She received her B.S. in 1973 and her Ph.D. in physics in 1978 from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She has published more than 70 papers in peer-reviewed journals and holds two patents in near-field optical data storage and optical display technology.

William H. Press—University of Texas, Austin

William H. Press is a computer scientist and computational biologist with broad interests in the physical and biological sciences. An experienced manager in both university and national laboratory settings, he is widely recognized for his academic and research accomplishments. Press holds the Warren J. and Viola M. Raymer Chair in Computer Sciences and Integrative Biology at the Universi-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement