Cover Image

Not for Sale

View/Hide Left Panel
Click for next page ( 508

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 507
APPENDIX III LIST OF PARTICIPANTS AND CONTRIBUTORS Colin S. Pittendrigh, Chairman, Princeton University Joshua Lederberg, Co-chairman, Stanford University Steering Committee Allan H. Brown, University of Pennsylvania Melvin Calvin, University of California, Berkeley N. H. Horowitz, California Institute of Technology Harold P. Klein, Ames Research Center (NASA Observer) Elliott C. Levinthal, Stanford University Aaron Novick, University of Oregon Donald G. Rea, University of California, Berkeley Carl Sagan, Harvard University and Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory J. P. T. Pearman, National Academy of Sciences E. A. Shneour, University of Utah Working Group James R. Arnold, University of California, San Diego K. C. Atwood, University of Illinois Robert M. Bock, University of Wisconsin Von R. Eshleman, Stanford University Humberto Fernandez-Moran, University of Chicago • Sidney W. Fox, University of Miami 507

OCR for page 507
508 APPENDIX ni Hans Gaffron, The Florida State University Donald A. Glaser, University of California, Berkeley Jerome Gross, Massachusetts General Hospital H. K. Hartline, The Rockefeller Institute Thomas Jukes, University of California, Berkeley Daniel Mazia, University of California, Berkeley John McCarthy, Stanford University A. D. McLaren, University of California, Berkeley Stanley L. Miller, University of California, San Diego Marvin Minsky, Massachusetts Institute of Technology John Oro, University of Houston George C. Pimentel, University of California, Berkeley John R. Platt, University of Chicago Ernest C. Pollard, The Pennsylvania State University Alexander Rich, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Drew Schwartz, Indiana University Hyron Spinrad, University of California, Berkeley Lubert Stryer, Stanford University Wolf Vishniac, University of Rochester NASA Representative—J. W. Haughey, NASA Headquarters NASA Contributors C. W. Bruch, NASA Headquarters R. Davies, Jet Propulsion Laboratory L. B. Hall, NASA Headquarters P. Haurlan, Jet Propulsion Laboratory D. Hearth, NASA Headquarters U. Liddel, NASA Headquarters F. H. Quimby, NASA Headquarters O. E. Reynolds, NASA Headquarters J. N. Smith, Marshall Spaccflight Center H. J. Stewart, Jet Propulsion Laboratory W. G. Stroud, Goddard Spaceflight Center Secretariat J. P. T. Pearman, Executive Director E. A. Shneour A. K. Grittrier E. A. Ottesen R. A. Fisher J. A. Durbin

OCR for page 507
509 Correspondents I. Barshad, University of California, Berkeley F. G. Beuf, General Electric Company K. Biemann, Massachusetts Institute of Technology D. F. Bradley, National Institutes of Health R. E. Cameron, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Sidney Coleman, Harvard University R. Colwell, University of California, Berkeley P. S. Conger, Smithsonian Institution J. Conway, University of California, Berkeley C. C. Delwiche, University of Californa, Davis S. Q. Duntley, Scripps Institution of Oceanography N. K. Freeman, University of California, Berkeley K. Fredricksson, Smithsonian Institution D. M. Gates, National Bureau of Standards R. H. Gohlke, Dow Chemical Company M. J. Johnson, University of Wisconsin Amron Katz, Rand Corporation S. R. Lipsky, Yale University R. C. Lord, Massachusetts Institute of Technology J. E. Lovelock, University of Houston F. W. McLafferty, Purdue University H. Mark, University of California, Lawrence Radiation Laboratory W. G. Meinschein, Esso Research and Engineering Company A. Metzger, Jet Propulsion Laboratory Harold Masursky, U. S. Geological Survey V. I. Oyama, Ames Research Center R. Pepinsky, Florida Atlantic University G. E. Pollock, Ames Research Center J. D. Roberts, California Institute of Technology R. Ryhage, Karolinska Institute! C. D. Schrader, Aerospace Corporation G. R. Shoemake, University of California, Berkeley J. Shoolery, Varian Associates F. J. Stephenson, University of Illinois Verner Suomi, U. S. Weather Bureau P. R. Swan, AVCO Corporation H. C. Urey, University of California, San Diego J. Waggoner, University of California, Lawrence Radiation Laboratory Ralph Zirkind, Brooklyn Polytechnic Institute A. Zlatkis, University of Houston