media, and to the development of green chemistry by taking advantage of organic reactions in molecular nanocrystals.

Patricia A. Thiel is the John D. Corbett Professor of Chemistry and a Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and of Materials Science & Engineering at Iowa State University. She is also a faculty scientist in the Ames Laboratory. She is active in research, teaching, and administration. In research, she is known for her work in three main areas: nanostructure evolution on surfaces; surface properties and structures of quasi crystals (a complex type of metallic alloy); and the chemistry of water adsorbed on metal surfaces. Dr. Thiel is an enthusiastic teacher of physical chemistry. She has held several administrative posts, including chair of the Department of Chemistry. Dr. Thiel earned her B.A. in chemistry from Macalester College and her Ph.D. in chemistry from the California Institute of Technology in 1981. After postdoctoral work at the University of Munich as a von Humboldt Fellow, she joined the technical staff at Sandia National Laboratories, and then moved to Iowa State University in 1983. In her early academic career, Dr. Thiel was recognized with awards from the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, and by a National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award. Later, she received the American Chemical Society’s Arthur W. Adamson Award and the American Physical Society’s David J. Adler Lectureship. She was also named fellow of several societies: the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Materials Research Society, the American Physical Society, and the American Vacuum Society.


James G. Anderson is Philip S. Weld Professor in the Departments of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, and the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Harvard University. He was chairman, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University, 1998-2001. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1992, the American Philosophical Society in 1998, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 1985, a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1986, and a fellow of the American Geophysical Union in 1989. He is a member of the Space Studies Board of the National Research Council (NRC). The Anderson Research Group addresses three domains at the interface of chemistry and earth sciences: (1) mechanistic links between chemistry, radiation, and dynamics in the atmosphere that control climate; (2) chemical catalysis sustained by free-radical chain reactions that dictate the macroscopic rate of chemical transformation in Earth’s stratosphere and troposphere; and (3) chemical reactivity viewed from the microscopic perspective of electron structure, molecular orbitals, and reactivities of radical–radical and radical–molecule systems. He has published over 200 peer-reviewed scientific papers and has testified on numerous occasions for both Senate and House hearings. He was presented the 2012 Smithsonian American Ingenuity Award in the Physical Sciences, the United Nations Environment Programme UNEP/WMO Vienna Convention Award, the Harvard Ledlie Prize for Most Valuable Contribution to Science by a Member of the Harvard Faculty, the ACS National Award for Creative Advances in Environmental Science and Technology, the United Nations Earth Day International Award, the E. O. Lawrence Award in Environmental Science and Technology, the ACS Gustavus John Esselen Award for Chemistry in the Public Interest, the University of Washington Arts and Sciences Distinguished Alumnus Achievement Award, the National Academy of Sciences Arthur L. Day Prize and Lectureship, and the United Nations Environment Programme Ozone Award. He served on the executive committee of the NRC Earth Science Applications from Space: National Imperatives for the Next Decade and Beyond, the Space Science Board Task Group on Research and Analysis; the NRC Committee on Atmospheric Chemistry; NRC Committee on Global Change Research; National Science Foundation Advisory Committee on Atmospheric Sciences; Board of Directors, University Corporation for Atmospheric Research; and Executive Committee and the Pontifical Academy Board for Chemical Events in the Atmosphere and Their Impact on the Environment.

Scott Auerbach is professor of chemistry, adjunct professor of chemical engineering, and founding director of the Integrated Concentration in Science (iCons) program, which focuses on integrating fields of science for training in societal problem areas such as renewable energy and biomedicine, at the University of Massachusetts (UMass), Amherst. He graduated with a Ph.D. in theoretical chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley in 1993 and began his academic position at UMass Amherst in the Chemistry Department in fall 1995. Professor Auerbach won a National Science Foundation Career Award in 1998, a Sloan Fellowship in 1999, and a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award in 1999. In 2006, Professor Auerbach won the UMass College of Science Outstanding Teacher Award. The research of Professor Auerbach and coworkers focuses on advanced materials and catalysts of importance to emerging renewable energy technologies including biofuels and fuel cells, leading to two books and 100 peer-reviewed articles. Professor Auerbach’s group also models the molecular-level mechanisms of self-assembly of nanostructured materials.

Michael J. Cima is a professor of materials science and engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and has an appointment at the David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research. He earned a B.S. in chemistry in 1982 (Phi Beta Kappa) and a Ph.D. in chemical engineering

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement