Click for next page ( 156

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 155
  B Speaker and Interviewee Acknowledgements The Committee is grateful to the following people who provide input during our workshops in Anchorage, AK and Ottawa, ON and those who participated in an interview. Anchorage Workshop Participants Julienne Stroeve, National Snow and Ice Data Waleed Abdalati, University of Colorado, Center Boulder Matthew Sturm, University of Alaska, Elizabeth Alter, City University of New York Fairbanks Douglas Anderson, Brown University Mead Treadwell, Government of Alaska Marcel Babin, Université Laval Kate Turcotte, University of Maine Matthew Berman, University of Alaska, Fran Ulmer, U.S. Arctic Research Anchorage Commission Lawson Brigham, University of Alaska, Daniel White, University of Alaska, Fairbanks Fairbanks Francis Wiese, North Pacific Research Board F. Stuart Chapin, University of Alaska, Dee Williams, Bureau of Ocean Energy Fairbanks Management Lou Codispoti, University of Maryland Center Cathy Wilson, Los Alamos National for Environmental Science Laboratory Doug DeMaster, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Ottawa Workshop Participants Jack Dibb, University of New Hampshire Andrew Applejohn, Government of the Karl Erb, National Science Foundation Northwest Territories (retired) Anne Barker, National Research Council, Ben Fitzhugh, University of Washington Government of Canada Andrew Fountain, Portland State University Elizabeth Boston, Canadian Natural Sciences Craig George, North Slope Borough and Engineering Research Council Bernard Hallet, University of Washington Chris Burn, Carleton University Lawrence Hamilton, University of New Christopher Cornish, Health Canada Hampshire Térèse De Groote, Canadian Social Sciences Leslie Holland-Bartels, U.S. Geological and Humanities Research Council Survey Chris Derksen, Environment Canada Jenny Hutchings, University of Alaska, Ranier Engelhardt, Public Health Agency of Fairbanks Canada Denny Lassuy, North Slope Science Initiative John England, University of Alberta Jim Lovvorn, Southern Illinois University Gail Fondahl, University of Northern British Jane Lubchenco, Oregon State University Columbia Philip Martin, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Phillipe Gachon, Environment Canada Molly McCammon, Alaska Ocean Observing Eric Gagné, Environment Canada System Dave Gillis, Fisheries and Oceans Canada Terri Morganson, ESRI Jacqueline Gonçalves, Canadian Coast Guard Tad Pfeffer, University of Colorado Mark Graham, Canadian Museum of Nature Karyn Rode, U.S. Geological Survey Brian Gray, Natural Resources Canada Natalia Shakhov, University of Alaska, Jean Paul Handrigan, Transport and Fairbanks Infrastructure Canada Robert Huebert, University of Calgary PREPUBLICATION COPY  155

OCR for page 155
156  Appendix B  Jocelyn Joe-Strack, Campagne and Aishihik Interviewees First Nation David Bromwich, The Ohio State University Claude Labine, Campbell Scientific Eddy Carmack, Fisheries and Ocean Canada Jean-Phillipe Lacasse, Public Safety Canada Bernard Coakley, University of Alaska, Caroline Larrivée, OURANOS Fairbanks Danielle Laponté, Aboriginal Affairs and Clara Deser, National Center for Atmospheric Northern Development, Government of Research Canada Hajo Eicken, University of Alaska, Fairbanks Antoni Lewkowicz, Ottawa University Jackie Grebmeier, University of Maryland Susan MacMillan, Privy Council Office, Center for Environmental Science Government of Canada Paul Holthus, World Ocean Council Scott Nickels, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami Brendan Kelly, Office of Science and John Nightingale, Vancouver Aquarium Technology Policy Aynslie Ogden, Yukon Government Igor Krupnik, Smithsonian Institution Wayne Pollard, McGill University Candace Major, National Science Foundation Martin Sharp, University of Alberta Larry Mayer, University of New Hampshire Duane Smith, Inuit Circumpolar Council Steve Meacham, National Science Darielle Talarico, Yukon Chamber of Foundation Commerce Claire Parkinson, National Aeronautics and Mary Ellen Thomas, Government of Nunavut Space Administration Warwick Vincent, Université Laval Joel Rowland, Los Alamos National Laboratory Representatives from the Embassies of Mark Serreze, National Snow and Ice Data Finland, Germany, Italy, Norway, Republic of Center Korea, Russian Federation, Spain, Matthew Shupe, National Oceanic and Switzerland, United States, and the British Atmospheric Administration High Commission Mike Steele, University of Washington Martin Visbeck, GEOMAR Helmholtz- Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel PREPUBLICATION COPY