Click for next page ( 262

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 261
APPENDIX Contributors to Computing the Future Mark Abbott, Oregon State University Hal Abelson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Richard Adrion, University of Massachusetts at Amherst Sudhir Aggarwal, State University of New York at Binghamton Ashok Agrawala, University of Maryland Donald Allison, Virginia Polytechnic Institute Gregory Andrews, University of Arizona Dean Arden, State University of New York at Albany John Armstrong, IBM Corporation Linda Ashcraft, SRA Corporation C. Gordon Bell, ME Ltd. Susan Berkowitz, Westat, Inc. Toel Birnbaum, Hewlett-Packard Barry Boehm, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Elaine Bond, Chase Manhattan Bank Robert Borchers, Lawrence Lisrermore National Laboratory Fiona Branton, Computer Systems Policy Project Joseph Bredekamp, National Aeronautics and Space Administration Frederick Brooks, Ir., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill I.C. Browne, University of Texas at Austin Charles Brownstein, National Science Foundation William Buzbee, National Center for Atmospheric Research John Cavallini, Department of Energy 261

OCR for page 261
262 Eric Clemons, University of Pennsylvania Jacques Cohen, Brandeis University Richard Conway, Cornell University COMPUTING THE FUTURE Donald Coughlin, Don Coughlin and Company Jerome Cox, Washington University Dart Davidson, Electronic Data Systems lack Demember, Digital Equipment Corporation Allan Ditchfield, MCI Richard DuBois, National Institutes of Health, National Center for Research Resources Karen Duncan, Association for Computing Machinery Sara Durand, Bank of America Charles Dyer, University of Wisconsin at Madison Patrick Dymond, University of California at San Diego Robert Elmore, Arthur Andersen & Company Domenico Ferrari, University of California at Berkeley Gideon Frieder, Syracuse University John Gage, Sun Microsystems, Inc. Thomas Cannon, Digital Equipment Corporation George Hedrick, Oklahoma State University Russell Hobble, University of Minnesota Lee Holcomb, National Aeronautics and Space Administration Charles Holland, Air Force Office of Scientific Research John Hopcroft, Cornell University Richard Ivanetich, Institute of Defense Analysis Anita Jones, University of Virginia Robert Kahn, Corporation for National Research Initiatives Malvin Kalos, Cornell University Sidney Karin, San Diego Supercomputer Center Kenneth Kay, Computer Systems Policy Project Jeffrey Kennington, Southern Methodist University Ellen Knapp, Coopers & Lybrand Joseph Lambert, Pennsylvania State University Lawrence Landweber, University of Wisconsin at Madison Duncan Lawrie, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Peter Lax, New York University Michael Levine, Carnegie Mellon University Daniel Lewis, Santa Clara University Stuart Madnick, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Kurt Maly, Old Dominion University William Marcy, Texas Technical University Manton Matthews, University of South Carolina

OCR for page 261
APPENDIX Raymond Miller, University of Maryland Harlan Mills, Software Engineering Technology, Inc. David Nagel, Apple Computer, Inc. Michael Nelson, Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation, Subcommittee on Science, Technology, and Space, U.S. Senate Norine Noonan, Office of Management and Budget Rodney Oldehoeft, Colorado State University Joseph Pasquale, University of California at San Diego Jesse Poore, University of Tennessee at Knoxville Edward Prell, AT&T Franklin Prosser, Indiana University Todd Qunito, Tufts University George Radin, IBM T.~. Watson Research Center David Reed, Lotus Development Corporation Juris Reinfelds, New Mexico State University Robert Reynolds, Wayne State University Robert Roe, Boeing Aerospace & Electronics Steven Rosenberg, Hewlett-Packard John Savage, Brown University Fred Schneider, Cornell University Stephen Seidman, Auburn University Bruce Shriver, IEEE Computer Society lanes Simon, University of Chicago Barbara Simons, IBM Almaden Research Center Irwin Sitkin, Aetna Insurance Company (retired) Larry Smarr, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Brian Smith, University of New Mexico Olaf Stackelberg, Kent State University Devika Subramanian, Cornell University Robert Sugar, University of California at Santa Barbara Richard Swan, Digital Equipment Corporation Satish Tripathi, University of Maryland at College Park A. Joseph Turner, Clemson University Jeffrey Ullman, Stanford University Andre van Tilborg, Office of Naval Research Frederick Weingarten, Computing Research Association Mark Weiser, Xerox Palo Alto Research Center Stephen Weiss, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Barry Whalen, Conductus, Inc. John White, Association for Computing Machinery Peter Will, Hewlett-Packard 263

OCR for page 261
264 COMPUTING THE FUTURE lames Wilson, Committee on Science, Space, and Technology, Subcommittee on Science, Research, and Technology, U.S. House of Representatives Shmuel Winograd) IBM TO Watson Research Center Eugene Wong, Office of Science and Technology Policy Helen Wood, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration William Wulf, University of Virginia Paul Young, University of Washington Joel Yudken, Rutgers University