APPENDIX D Biographical Information on Panel Members and Professional Staff


HAROLD BROWN, Chairman, is Chairman of the Foreign Policy Institute of the Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies. He also serves as a member of the Board of Directors of IBM, CBS, and Cummins Engine Company, among other companies. Dr. Brown was Secretary of Defense from 1977 until 1981. From 1969 until 1977, he was President of the California Institute of Technology. Dr. Brown served as Director of Defense Research and Engineering from 1961 to 1965. He subsequently became Secretary of the Air Force, a post he held until 1969. Before beginning his Defense Department work in 1961, Dr. Brown had been Director of the Radiation Laboratory at Livermore, University of California and a member of the President's Science Advisory Committee.

JOHN A. ARMSTRONG is Vice President and Director of Research for IBM. In 1989, he was elected to the Corporate Management Board. Since joining IBM in 1963, he has held several positions within the company's research laboratories, including Director of Physical Sciences and Manager of Materials and Technology Development. Previously he was Chairman of the Advisory Board for Physics of the National Science Foundation. In 1987, Dr. Armstrong was elected a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences. Dr. Armstrong has written or co-authored more than 50 scientific papers on the

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement