and Application (Peking University), National Remote Sensing Center Training Department (SSTC), or the Chinese Universities Remote Sensing Center (State Education Commission [SEDC]). The institute was established in 1983, and has a staff of about 30 to 35 professors, two associate professors, and four senior engineers. Four codirectors oversee different aspects of the institute's work: Cheng Jicheng (research), Chen Kai (administration), Ma Ainai (education), and Xu Xiru (laboratory). A GlS and a geographic expert system are run on PCs. A satellite ground station receives AVHRR data from National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) satellites. Research by using remote sensing techniques is usually geographic in nature and is mainly concerned with water and soil resources. Researchers also carry out geological surveys of ore deposits.

The institute is a training center for institutions using remote sensing imagery, which has reduced the need for individual administrative systems to build up their own training capacities. Furthermore, the center has been the site for regional training programs, for example, a United Nations program for GIS training for the Asian Pacific region.


When established in 1950, the CAS Qingdao Institute of Oceanology was the first of its kind in China. Its unique contribution, especially its work on marine algae, marine sedimentation, shallow water circulation, experimental marine biology, cultivation technology, and marine resource development, has laid the foundation for the development of Chinese marine science studies. Directed by Qin Yunshan and with a staff of 1,079, it is the largest multidisciplinary oceanographic institute in China. In addition, Qingdao is home to other major oceanographic institutions such as the State Oceanographic Administration's (SOA) First Institute of Oceanography and the Qingdao Ocean University.

The institute has three open laboratories (that accept visiting Chinese and foreign scholars) for studies of marine biology, ocean circulation and air-sea interaction, and ecological toxicology studies. It has nine major departments, namely, the Department of Physical Oceanography, Department of Marine Geology and Geophysics, Department of Marine Chemistry, Department of Marine Environmental Science, Department of Marine Botany, Department of Marine Invertebrate Zoology, Department of Marine Vertebrate Zoology, Department of Marine Experimental Zoology, and Department of Marine Technology and Instrumentation.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement