The State Environmental Protection Commission (SEPC) was established by the State Council in 1984 and is the leading decision-making body in China for environmental issues. Membership includes the heads of all relevant ministries and agencies (SSTC, State Economic Commission, State Planning Commission, Ministry of Urban and Rural Construction, Ministry of Forestry, MOA, Ministry of Water Resources, various industrial ministries, and the Ministry of Energy), who meet quarterly to review and set environmental policy and provide interagency coordination. NEPA is the SEPC secretariat.


The State Meteorological Administration (SMA), under the direction of Zou Jingmeng, has three major centers, the National Meteorological Center,7 the National Satellite Meteorological Center, and CAMS. Additionally, the administrative offices for the Chinese National Climate Committee and the National Climate Change Coordination Group (NCCCG) are located at SMA (Chapter 2). Of these major centers, CAMS is where SMA's research is conducted. Further details about CAMS and global change research being conducted there can be found in Chapters 4 and 5 and Appendix A.

Meteorological data in China are particularly robust and have a historical depth unmatched by any other country. Currently, SMA has more than 2,600 surface observational stations, upper-air sounding stations, weather radar stations, and various specialized meteorological stations. The monitoring network has six regional centers (Shanghai, Wuhan, Shenyang, Guangzhou, Chengdu, and Lanzhou) that are operational or under construction. Each province has a meteorological bureau, each prefecture has a weather office, and each county has a weather station. At the national level, the National Meteorological Center provides data and information, climate analysis, and other meteorological services. SMA has two satellites transmitting Advanced Very High Resolution Radiometer (AVHRR) data. These data are handled by SMA's National Meteorological Satellite Center.


The State Oceanographic Administration (SOA), founded in 1964 and directed by Yan Hongmo, is an active participant in Tropical

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement